Members

jaswanson
jaswanson другие детали
  • Looking for:
    A Date with Serious Intentions, Potential Courtship, Marriage Minded
  • Семейное положение:
    Single - Never Married
  • Christian Affiliation:
    Reformed Baptist
  • Race:
    кавказец
  • Height:
    5' 7"
  • Build:
    Тощий
  • Цвет глаз:
    коричневый
  • Цвет волос:
    коричневый
  • College /University:
    Dordt University University of Arizona UT Austin (This upcoming fall)
  • Graduation Year:
    2020
  • Level of education:
    Мастера
  • Занятость:
    Студент
  • Occupation:
    PhD student (Starting this fall)
  • Company:
    N/a
  • доход:
    20-60K
  • Seeking Ethnicity:
    Any
  • My ideal place to live:
    A cabin in the woods
  • My view on smoking:
    I am a non-smoker
  • My view on drinking:
    I don't drink, but don't mind others drinking in moderation
  • On the subject of children:
    I would like to have children one day
  • Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?:
    I have a very close knit family. I am very close to my parents and I have three younger brothers who I am very close to. In terms of relocating, that is not really an option for me short term, since I will be in grad school for the next 5 years.
  • How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?:
    I was in 8th grade. I had spent years being the kid who asked Jesus into his heart every night because I didn't think it stuck the night before. One day, I came to realize that my salvation was not centered on my ability to say the right prayer, bit on Christ and his work alone. In the present, I am continually growing. The constant challenge for me is moving past being over-confident in my head knowledge and learning to grow in my love for God.
  • How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?:
    They give me constant comfort and assurance. Knowing that we have a sovereign God who saves solely on the basis of his grace sustains me. What's more, knowing he chose me from before the foundations of the earth reminds me that his love is constant, and not based on any ability in me to obtain it. Finally, it gives me the comfort of knowing no matter the twists and turns in life (and there have been many in my life), nothing surprises God.
  • Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?:
    I've been trying to read through Romans, and I am starting (if I can remain faithful in my reading) Ezra and Nehemiah. I ha e also been working through the Valley of Vision at night as a devotional.
  • Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?:
    I have a great love for David. David was called a man after God's own heart, and it showed in his life. He was certainly not perfect, and when he sinned he sinned gravely. But he turned continually to God, praising him in times of blessing and sorrow.
  • Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?:
    I'm at a stage in my life where I want to settle down and start working towards marriage and starting a family. It is certainly a strong desire. That being said, I want to wait for a relationship that glorifies God. While I have a strong desire to marry, my identity is found in Christ, not my marital status.
  • What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?:
    Gentle, smart, funny, caring
  • What are three things you are most thankful for?:
    My salvation, my family, and the various church families I have had in my life.
  • Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?:
    I enjoy someone who is passionate about God and all that they do, funny, gentle, patient, and most of all someone who loves Christ more than they love me.
  • Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?:
    Other than my parents, I would have to honestly say my grandma. She was my first Sunday school teacher and she has been a constant part of my life. She is a strong Christian woman who has tried to make God and his Word central in her life, which she has worked to instill in all her children and grandchil. We don't always see eye-to-eye (especially because we both enjoy playful arguing), but I have learned so much from my time with her, and much of who I am as a person is a result of my time with her.
  • What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?:
    N/a
  • How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?:
    Since I am in graduate school, I live on my own for about 9 months, then I come home to work for the summer, so I'm not completely on my own. This routine has gone on since undergrad, so about 6 or 7 years. The one thing that has helped me get through it the most has been my church family. They have helped me during financial hardship, encouraged me spiritually, and provided me with immense care and friendship.
  • Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?:
    Luke 17:10 is probably my all time favorite verse, "So you also, when you have done all that you were commanded, say, 'We are unworthy servants; we have only done whatnot was our duty." My favorite books of the Bible are Leviticus (ask me about it), Ecclesiastes, Ephesians, and Revelation. I love hymns, and I have too many that I could list. Some of my favorites are "O Come O Come Emmanuel" (which is my absolute favorite, Christmas or otherwise), "Be Thou My Vision," "It is Well," and "Take the World but Give me Jesus." My favorite books are Augustine's Confessions and Dante's Divine Comedy, Calvin and Hobbes, as well as various newer fiction books. I love the Lord of the Rings, movies that make you think, like Inception and Interstellar, and old tv shows.
  • What type of work do/did you do?:
    I am a graduate student, about to start a PhD in religious studies, focusing on early Christianity (especially in the 2nd Century). I'm interested in seaming how the church developed and grew in the first few centuries of its existence. In addition, in the summers I work at a hospital cafeteria part time delivering patient food trays.
  • How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?:
    I just completed my Master's degree, so I've been in graduate school for two years now. It's hard work, but I love it.
  • Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?:
    I want to someday have a family and have a job teaching at a college. Most of all, though, I want to be able to serve in some capacity in whatever church I am at, and use what I have learned to benefit the church. A part of why I chose to work in early Christianity is because I am passionate about the early church fathers and I want to share that love with the body of Christ. More importantly, though, I want to grow in my knowledge of the Scriptures and encourage my brothers and sisters in the church in whatever way I can.
  • Where were you born and where have you traveled?:
    I was born I Minnesota, but my family is in Wisconsin now, and I call it home. I've been to several states, including Iowa, California, Colorado, D. C., Arizona, Texas, Pennsylvania, and several I have driven through. I also have been to Vancouver B.C. in Canada
  • How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?:
    I enjoy outdoor activities, especially fishing. I enjoy reading, though I am admittedly not a very faithful reader (I get easily distracted). I enjoy spending time with my family, watching movies, and just talking with my family and friend about current events and other random topics.
  • Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?:
    One of the areas I have had to learn to grow is balancing work and rest. I enjoy the work I do, and often have a tendency to busy myself and not take time to rest. One of the ways God has most challenged me in the past couple of years is learning when to put down my work and find time for rest and fellowship. I still have a long way to go, and five years of graduate school will make this challenging, but by God's grace I am growing.
  • О себе:
    I am a sinner saved by a gracious God who bore the wrath owed to me. I am a man who longs to grow more as a Christian, is passionate about Christ's church, and who cares deeply for those around him.
  • Мои Интересы:
    The Early Church Fathers, spending time with family and friends, fishing and hunting, hiking, lovingly debating and discussing just about any subject, and coffee.
Виртуальные Подарки

Вы должны войти чтобы отправлять виртуальные подарки.