Members

scarvillan14
scarvillan14 other details
  • Looking for:
    Marriage Minded, A Date with Serious Intentions, Potential Courtship
  • Marital Status:
    Single - Never Married
  • Christian Affiliation:
    Reformed Baptist, Calvinistic
  • Race:
    Hispanic / Latino
  • Height:
    5' 9"
  • Build:
    Average
  • Eye Color:
    Brown
  • Hair Color:
    Dark Brown
  • College /University:
    Lamar University - Honors Program Graduate. I'm also currently enrolled at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
  • Graduation Year:
    2007
  • Level of education:
    Bachelors
  • Employment:
    Full Time
  • Occupation:
    Honors Literature Teacher
  • Company:
    Harmony Public Schools
  • Income:
    60-80K
  • Seeking Ethnicity:
    Any
  • My ideal place to live:
    ----
  • My view on smoking:
    I am a non-smoker
  • My view on drinking:
    I drink occasionally
  • On the subject of children:
    I would like to have children one day
  • Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?:
    I love my family, and I thank the Lord that it keeps growing. My new baby niece was recently born! I am grateful that my parents, siblings, their spouses, and their children all live within an hour's drive from me. This allows me to enjoy time with them quite regularly. I have lived in Los Angeles, California and in Baytown, Beaumont, Dallas, and Houston,Texas. Therefore, relocating does not worry me, assuming that there was a God-directed reason to move away.
  • How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?:
    My parents raised us in a Oneness Pentecostal church. In my mid-teens, I started to suspect that our church was not correctly teaching us the Scriptures or Christian doctrine. When I moved out for college, I rejected those erroneous teachings, but I, unfortunately, turned to a life of religious indifference. At 28, upon considerable reflection on my young adulthood, I firmly believe that the Holy Spirit convicted me of my sin and graciously regenerated me unto faith in the finished work of Jesus Christ on the cross. Since then, I've mercifully experienced wonderful growth and strengthening in the faith. I currently teach an adult Apologetics class and Biblical Doctrines class at the church I attend. I am also enrolled in seminary.
  • How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?:
    The Doctrines of Grace have revolutionized my entire outlook. As a boy, I was taught to believe that we had to contribute to our salvation, that our baptism had to be in "Jesus's name only," that we could lose our salvation, and that if you did not ever speak in tongues, then you were not actually saved. I thank God for opening my eyes to the Reformed faith and for helping me to understand that my salvation is by grace alone, through faith alone, in Christ alone, according to the Scriptures alone. And all of that for the glory of God alone! My life is lived in the light of these great truths.
  • Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?:
    Almost every morning, I go for a three-mile walk or jog during which I listen to the Scriptures. Once out of the shower, I pray and reflect on what I've heard that morning. I am currently reading the various books required for my Spiritual Disciplines class. I am also teaching through J.I. Packer's "Knowing God" at church.
  • Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?:
    After Christ, I look up to Paul the most. Paul was a scholar, a leader, a philosopher, and a theologian, but he still referred to himself as the chief of sinners and suffered countless afflictions for the sake of the Gospel. This dichotomy of a life of prestige and poverty shows me that even the most blessed of apostles will go through hardships for Christ's sake. Nevertheless, Paul's story encourages me to say alongside him: "I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me."
  • Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?:
    The Bible says that it is not good for us to be alone. Given that, I am prayerfully hoping that God would lead me to the one that He's prepared for me and for whom He has prepared me. I am not sure when that will happen. Honestly, sometimes it seems that it's been too long. Nevertheless, His will be done in my life.
  • What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?:
    Without having taken a scientific poll of my friends, I believe the top four answers would be some variation of self-assured, intelligent, fun-loving, and thoughtful.
  • What are three things you are most thankful for?:
    I am so grateful that God breathed new life into my dead bones and rescued me from the pit. I am also grateful that the Holy Spirit is daily conforming me into the image of his Son, even if that often requires a painful and messy look into a mirror full of imperfections. In this time of economic uncertainty, I am incredibly thankful that I have gainful employment and that I have been able to continue my education.
  • Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?:
    I love when other people can truly live in the moment and look for the "silver lining" in their circumstances. Sometimes I catch myself planning too much for the future that I miss out on some of the blessings of the present. I also appreciate the gifts of hospitality and a welcoming spirit. Even though I have to professionally interact with large crowds, I tend to feel most at ease around smaller groups or in a one-on-one context. Hence, I am fond of people who are warm, inviting, and who love to make situations comforting for others. Additionally, I truly respect people who think through circumstances, situations, or issues in such a way that they are not only motivated by their emotions. We often get in trouble when we don't pause to think and just allow our tongues to rage like a fire.
  • Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?:
    The pastor who was shepherding the first church I went to when I became a Christian in Dallas has probably had the most influence on me. While there, I feel like he adopted me, spiritually speaking, and poured into me every ounce of fatherly direction that he could. I am so fortunate to have had someone like him lead me through my first years as a convert.
  • What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?:
    We began to experience significant division over the issues of gender roles in the home and in the church. I was advocating for a complementarian, historic, and orthodox position on these matters. She was arguing for a post-modern/liberal view of those topics.
  • How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?:
    That relationship ended two years ago. I rested in God's grace, and I also sought a licensed Christian counselor who was very instrumental in helping me to see that it takes more courage to stand on one's convictions than it does to compromise for a desired, but unbiblical, outcome.
  • Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?:
    One of my favorite Scriptures comes from Psalm 27:13: "I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living." This verse emphasizes the hopefulness that we can enjoy because of God's goodness and grace. Beyond that, some of my favorite movies are by Fincher, Kubrik, Mann, Scorcese, Nolan, and Villeneuve. Some of my favorite musicians are Radiohead, Portugal. The Man, Arctic Monkeys, Purity Ring, and Two Door Cinema Club.
  • What type of work do/did you do?:
    I teach Honors Literature to the gifted student population of a charter school.
  • How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?:
    I have thoroughly enjoyed my job for going on four years. Before that, my experience was in banking and in small business development.
  • Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?:
    I would like to be married and have a family who we raise in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. I would like to pursue education as far as God allows it, preferably a PhD. Also, I hope to publish at least a few significant works of theology or apologetics. Lastly, I would love to reflect back at the end of my life and know that my family and I spent our energies in loving God and winning souls for His kingdom.
  • Where were you born and where have you traveled?:
    I was born in Central Mexico. We moved to California when I was two years old. I've lived in Texas since middle school. Through various academic and professional endeavors, I've been fortunate enough to have visited most of the continental U.S.
  • How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?:
    I really enjoy playing sports, especially basketball, volleyball, and football. I like other games such as billiards and bowling. I am an avid reader by nature and by profession. I played the drums for twelve years, but I mostly stopped when I converted. I hope to start that back up. Beyond that, I love film, music, and eating a great meal out.
  • About Me:
    I am a sinner, saved by grace, who seeks to build a lasting relationship with a wonderful teammate for God's glory.
  • My Interests:
    Philosophy, theology, church history, politics, sports, and being outside in nature
Virtual Gifts

You must log in to send virtual gifts.