View Profile

Details

First Name

Ciera

Username

poppylavender

Nickname

poppylavender

Gender

Female

Location

Croydon, UK

Country

United Kingdom

State

N/A

City

Croydon

Looking for

Male, Potential Courtship, A Date with Serious Intentions, Marriage Minded

Marital Status

Single – Never Married

Christian Affiliation

Reformed

Race

Caucasian

Height

5' 4"

Build

Small / Petite

Eye Color

Blue

Hair Color

Brown

College /University

University of Arizona

Graduation Year

2018

Level of education

Masters

Employment

Full Time

Occupation

Paediatric Speech and Language Therapist

Company

National Health Service

Seeking Ethnicity (those I am willing to date)

Any

My ideal place to live

On the coast

My view on smoking

I am a non-smoker

My view on drinking

I rarely drink

On the subject of children

I would like to have children one day

Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?

I am very close with my mother and father. I also have a younger brother who is married. I am originally from the USA and am moving to the London area to work for the NHS, so they are back in the States. My current plan is to go back to the States after a couple years, since I am close with my family, but I am also open to God’s will if it’s in His plan for me to stay in the UK.

How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?

I am very blessed in that I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t drawn to Christ. Like any long-time believer or “church kid,” I’ve gone through different parts of my journey filled with more doubt or anxiety than others, but the Lord has been with me every step of the way. My Christian walk these days is defined by full acknowledgment of and gratitude for my total dependence on God. This year has brought me the same challenges it’s brought everyone, and the US has faced politically tumultuous times in addition. I was also diagnosed with a chronic illness this year (I can still fully function, just with a little more pain and physical sensitivity than is normal), and my plans to move had to be put on hold for eight months due to the pandemic. God has shown me the grace and blessings in surrendering to His perfect planning and timing.

How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?

The Doctrines of Grace mean freedom and overwhelming love in the absence of merit to me. I’m not one to find much fruitfulness in intense debates over nitty-gritty doctrine, but I do think theology is important, and I think Scripture clearly points to the fact that we could never earn what Christ has done for us. It is utterly humbling to think about.

Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?

Yes, I usually do a lot of my reflection and Scripture reading in the evening. Currently a friend and I are going through a study on “the Hebrew Bible” (I really enjoy thorough deep-dives on the Old Testament), and I’ve also been reading This Too Shall Last: Finding Grace When Suffering Lingers by KJ Ramsey. It’s no established Reformed literature, but since I got a chronic diagnosis last year, I’ve found her words, coming from her own experience with chronic illness, to be very thought-provoking and comforting. There’s truly so much grace and comfort to be found in Christ when physically we feel out of control, and I’m grateful for that lens.

Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?

Ruth’s character and loyalty speak to me greatly, I find comfort in David’s flaws and His candid words with God, Paul’s words and testimony have always been of help during some of my most spiritually trying times, and Mary’s quiet obedience is of note to me.

Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?

Lately, more so, if this is God’s will. I’ve struggled watching those around me marry and have children when this has been my desire for a long time. I didn’t imagine that I’d be one to get a higher degree and have an established career by this point. But God has allowed me to find a role of service in my profession, and I’ve been impacted by it deeply on a personal level. I’m trusting that it’s not possible for me to be outside of the will of God and that He’s leading me exactly where He intends me to be.

 

What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?

Kind, I hope

Quiet

A thinker before a speaker

Organized

What are three things you are most thankful for?

I’m deeply grateful for a relationship with God, my family, and a few solid Christian friends.

Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?

I value kindness, compassion, humility, thoughtfulness, and a sense of humor.

Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?

I have been greatly impacted by the children with disabilities with whom I work. Disabilities truly are not scary, and when you spend more time around people with them than without, they become incredibly normal. I’m very passionate about inclusion of people with disabilities in mainstream society.

What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?

Not really applicable in my case. One or two dates here and there have not developed into a full-blown relationship either because I did not think we were compatible or because God made it clear the timing was not right between our respective life circumstances.

How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?

I’ve been on dates but have always been single. I walk with and trust God. 

Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?

“Beautiful things don’t ask for attention.” – The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

Psalm 42 – I love the imagery in this psalm, and I often return to it when I need comfort.

Luke 2:19 – But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart. – I love the quiet introspection in this verse.

 

What type of work do/did you do?

I am an NHS speech and language therapist in the schools. In the US, I worked primarily with 3-5 year-olds, which is my favorite age group. I work with mainly primary school and some secondary students in the UK.

How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?

I have worked as a speech and language therapist since I got my MS in 2018. Sometimes I feel like a bit of an imposter in the field, since I am naturally quite quiet and introverted, but I’ve discovered a lot more confidence in what I do, and I love the kids I work with.

Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?

I only hope to realize God’s will for my life and to not waste it. Special needs adoption is a big priority and goal of mine as my life starts to hopefully stabilize in the next few years.

Where were you born and where have you traveled?

I was born in the Southeast United States. I lived there for 10 years, then moved to the Southwest United States, where I lived for 25 years. I’ve been to 22 states, Canada, Mexico, England, Scotland, and Ireland.

How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?

I love spending time with my dog, Fletcher. I raised him initially for Guide Dogs for the Blind, and he was a guide dog for about 6 months. He decided to retire early, so he’s done some therapy work with me and otherwise is just an amazing pet. I also love photography and quilting. I like walking outside in beautiful places but overall tend to be a bit of a home body.

Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?

I’m an American citizen and decided to take the leap and experience life somewhere different when speech therapists were added to the UK’s occupation shortage list and getting a visa became much easier. I’m really excited (once lockdown is lifted) to see as much of this beautiful region as I can and develop new friendships!

About Me

See above 🙂

My Interests

See above 🙂

New Report

Close