Members

msjamesd
msjamesd other details
  • Looking for:
    Marriage Minded, A Date with Serious Intentions
  • Marital Status:
    Single - Never Married
  • Christian Affiliation:
    Anglican, Presbyterian Church in America (PCA), Orthodox Presbyterian Church (OPC)
  • Race:
    Caucasian
  • Height:
    5' 8"
  • Build:
    Extra Pounds
  • Eye Color:
    Blue
  • Hair Color:
    Light Brown
  • College /University:
    Boston College Grand Valley State University
  • Graduation Year:
    2020
  • Level of education:
    Masters
  • Employment:
    Self Employed
  • Occupation:
    freelance English instruction
  • Company:
    self-employed
  • Income:
    Not Stated
  • Seeking Ethnicity:
    Any
  • My ideal place to live:
    In the suburbs
  • My view on smoking:
    I might not mind a pipe or cigar
  • My view on drinking:
    I drink regularly, in moderation
  • On the subject of children:
    I would like to have children one day
  • Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?:
    I moved around frequently as a kid. My parents and sister live in a different state now, I myself have continued moving a few times since college, and may move again for school. Trust me, I want to stay put one day.
  • How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?:
    I was seven when I first made an intentional commitment, having been raised by Christian parents. To be honest, I find prayer genuinely exciting these days. God acts and, if we look, we can see him moving.
  • How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?:
    As I grow older, I find it to be more and more evident how God is in ultimate control of even the small details.
  • Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?:
    I try to keep a prayer rule (set list of prayers) each morning and evening, including the Jesus Prayer: "Lord Jesus Christ Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner."
  • Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?:
    The Apostle John, for the literary quality of his Gospel.
  • Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?:
    Truly, I am. Recently my prayer life has expanded in ways that allow me to see it becoming a focus of my energy and time. But I also long for a companion to partner with in life, and I believe God intends for me to seek that. And I can easily imagine how that could be of benefit. So, yes and no, I am and am not content, sensing that I am not meant to stay as I am.
  • What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?:
    intelligence (no really, in every friend group I join, I spontaneously acquire the nickname, "the Professor"), warmth (I'm an old softy, as well as an old school romantic), loyalty (despite moving four times since leaving college, I've stayed close with my closest friends from those years), deep (because that's where I always tend to take the conversation)
  • What are three things you are most thankful for?:
    the power of God in prayer, which he also grants to those who pray, trusty friends, old books on almost any subject
  • Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?:
    "old school," both in values and style (I myself *should* have been born in nineteenth century Britain, or in the 1930s/40s), sense of adventure, curiosity, and openness to new ideas and experiences (definitely characterizes me), easygoing / not high drama (I tend to have big highs and lows, while my friends are all more easygoing, and thus stabilizing)
  • Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?:
    My college pastor, who kept up with me when I lived abroad and has always known how to counsel me through hard times.
  • What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?:
    Mismatch of values. As I said, I'm an old school guy. As a result, I don't think I'm very mainstream, so I feel a pretty strong disconnect with the values and vogues of modern culture. At the same time, other relationships ended because I was more interested in exploring new vistas (figurative and literal) than several of my girlfriends. Being honest, I get really, really, really excited about ideas, and I want to share some of that, somehow.
  • How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?:
    My last relationship ended over a month ago now (July 2020). Honestly I thought I would be off relationships for a while after that, but it raised new questions which I am just really curious to explore, mainly about how to be a traditional Christian living in a modern context without caving to the surrounding culture, yet also without being stuck in an idealized conservatism. (I told you, I highly conceptual.)
  • Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?:
    "For I know that my redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth." Job 19:25 (Something about the KJV of this particular verse has stuck with me since childhood.) "The most important things are the hardest to say. They are the things you get ashamed of, because words diminish them—words shrink things that seemed limitless when they were in your head to no more than living size when they're brought out. But it's more than that, isn't it? The most important things lie too close to wherever your secret heart is buried, like landmarks to a treasure your enemies would love to steal away. And you may make revelations that cost you dearly only to have people look at you in a funny way, not understanding what you've said at all, or why you thought it was so important that you almost cried while you were saying it. That's the worst, I think. When the secret stays locked within not for want of a teller but for want of an understanding ear." Stephen King (of all people) "Two roads diverged in a wood, and I— I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference." Robert Frost (not only beautiful lines, but ones which my life has seemed to follow)
  • What type of work do/did you do?:
    I have held a number of jobs while in school, but principally I have taught English as a second language, both in person and online.
  • How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?:
    I taught English for about four years and still teach the odd freelance lesson. I love teaching, especially in person.
  • Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?:
    Oh, so many! mainly I want to teach and/or write books about theology. Been my dream since age 13 and still going strong. (I just finished a master's in theology and am applying to doctoral programs now.)
  • Where were you born and where have you traveled?:
    born: Lansing, MI lived: Grand Rapids, MI (three distinct times); Texas; Arizona; Germany; China; Indiana; Massachusetts traveled: England, the Netherlands, Belgium, Scotland, Canada, South Korea, and Spain
  • How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?:
    reading Tolkien hiking reading theology going to the symphony reading (and writing) poetry getting dressed up to go out to dinner reading philosophy playing guitar and singing with friends
  • About Me:
    My name's Michael. I flatter myself that I am a classical man. At least, that's what I aim to be in life - someone who knows and lives by the time-tested standards of our faith, as well as of culture's achievements. God's common grace so abundant, found in literature, beautiful architecture, and the great visionaries of history. Ha! All this may sound snobbish. But really, I love and aspire to all these things. Also, I'm a sentimentalist, a romantic, a restless soul, and die hard friend.
  • My Interests:
    including but limited to: classical literature and art, folk music, classical music (especially the Russian romantics), poetry, Tolkien, picnics, singing, impromptu road trips, Sinatra, grand architecture, and general intellectual discussion - also dancing given half a chance
Virtual Gifts

You must log in to send virtual gifts.