View Profile

Details

Nickname

Lauren24601

Gender

Female

Country

United States

State

Oregon

City

Portland

Looking for

Male, Marriage Minded

Marital Status

Single – Never Married

Christian Affiliation

CREC

Race

Caucasian

Height

5' 5"

Build

Slight

Eye Color

Blue

Hair Color

Brown

College /University

Western Governors University & Reformed Theological Seminary (current)

Graduation Year

2019

Level of education

Bachelors

Employment

Part Time

Occupation

Church intern, writer, EFL teacher, sales

Seeking Ethnicity (those I am willing to date)

Any

My ideal place to live

On the coast

My view on smoking

I am a non-smoker

My view on drinking

I drink occasionally

On the subject of children

I would like to have children one day

Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?

My family and a very strong and supportive and dear church community is in Oregon. I honestly love the Northwest. But I am open to the discussion of relocating. I’ve always wanted to spend some time living in a big city. I lived overseas for almost two years.

How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?

I don’t remember a time before I knew that I knew God. I was baptized at the age of 6 when my parents joined a reformed church, but before then I didn’t know that I wasn’t a Christian – my parents were, and I knew God, so I thought I was too.

In my early teens, I began to take ownership of my faith. I read “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis, and discovered apologetics for the first time, realizing that it was both possible and necessary to have a reason for what I believed. I also attended a life-changing Sunday school class on Leviticus and Hebrews. Studying the atonement, the saving work of Jesus Christ, the meaning behind the sacrificial system, the old covenant and the new covenant, forced me to really confront both the magnitude of my own sin and the magnitude of the work Jesus accomplished. These were experiences that gave me the framework and vocabulary to express what I believed to be true, what I had always known to be real about the way the world worked and about my own spiritual life.

How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?

They give me the freedom to put aside myself and approach God without striving and without fear. As I grow in my understanding of God, I am continually assured of the fact that I can be completely honest before God, something I struggle with before other people. God knows exactly how evil and weak I am, and I don’t have to bring any value to Him in order to be loved by Him. God is present and real in my life. It is the truest thing I know. Sometimes it feels like the only thing I know. If I knew nothing else my whole life perhaps that would be enough. But of course God calls us ever to greater, deeper understanding, and I am eager to continue to grow in that knowledge and wisdom, and to continue to serve the church and the people that He loves.

Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?

Yes. I’ve started trying to read throughout the day so that it becomes a part of my whole life rather than a duty to perform once a day. I’m currently reading through the Epistles.

Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?

David because he is a warrior and a poet. It’s amazing that we get such a picture of his emotional life and walk with God. Imagine being the king of Israel, yet all Israel can read your inner thoughts before God.

Also, Rebekah because she is like a female Abraham who leaves her homeland to follow God. She and Isaac have one of the closest relationships in the Old Testament. She speaks directly with God and is willing to take the curse upon herself so that Israel might be blessed, like Paul.

You know who’s also really cool? Ehud the left-handed spy. What a man.

Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?

I’m thankful for the opportunities that I have during this season of singleness, I really am. I’m following where God leads but I long for someone to walk with me in that calling. I want children and a family.

What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?

Tenacious, creative, loyal, witty. I look out for people and am always trying to find those on the outskirts of groups and bring them further in to the warmth of community.

What are three things you are most thankful for?

books + the ability to read, hands cause nothing else can do what they do, coffee is a simple pleasure I thank God for every day

Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?

Godliness, sense of humor, curious, intellectually minded, compassionate, drive/ambition, intuitive/empathetic, decisive. Someone with a sharp mind who looks out for other people.

Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?

Childhood pastor preached some very influential theology-heavy sermons that shaped me. Some very close friends have taught me what Christian love looks like, challenged and stretched me.

Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?

Job 19:25-27; Psalm 139;
“Sometimes I start a sentence and I don’t even know where its going. I just hope I find it along the way.” -Michael Scott; « Do not be daunted by the enormity of the world’s grief. Do justly now. Love mercy now. Walk humbly now. You are not obligated to complete the work, but neither are you free to abandon it.» —Pirkei Avot

What type of work do/did you do?

I have worked mainly in customer service and marketing, primarily for small businesses. More recently I took a job with a CREC church in Ukraine working as an EFL teacher/mentor/activities coordinator for an after-school program for at-risk kids.

How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?

I enjoy the social aspect of customer service, and I enjoy becoming an expert on a product and doing consulting. I don’t particularly enjoy teaching English, but I do enjoy working with kids, especially teenagers, in a mentoring capacity.

Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?

Publish a book. Write/direct/produce a film. Masters in Biblical studies from Reformed Theological Seminary. Have children/start a family. I always wanted to be a senator because senator is a cool title…

Where were you born and where have you traveled?

Born in Oregon, traveled repeatedly to Eastern/Central Europe, England. Hope to visit one of my close friends in Japan someday soon.

How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?

Read. Write. Fellowship with the saints. Watch movies. Drink tea. Cook.

About Me

I am the oldest of six kids, homeschooled, graduated with a bachelors in marketing, then moved to Ukraine to work with at-risk kids for a year and a half. I’m a writer with a dream of getting a book published someday. I’m active in my local church and I’m currently pursuing a degree at RTS with the long-term goal of working in church ministry. I believe God has called me for a special purpose and I want to make a difference in the world.

My Interests

Writing, reading, theology, politics, psychology, music, arguing with communists

New Report

Close