View Profile

Details

Nickname

Gary-F

Gender

Male

Country

United State

State

North Crolina

City

Charlotte

Looking for

Marriage Minded

Marital Status

Widowed

Christian Affiliation

Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church (ARP), Orthodox Presbyterian Church (OPC), Presbyterian Church in America (PCA)

Race

Caucasian

Height

5' 11"

Build

Skinny

Eye Color

Blue

Hair Color

Gray

College /University

Colorado School of Mines (B.S), University of New Haven (M.S.)

Graduation Year

1988

Level of education

Masters

Employment

Full Time

Occupation

Database Analyst

Company

A major financial institution

Seeking Ethnicity (those I am willing to date)

Caucasian

My ideal place to live

In the suburbs

My view on smoking

I am a non-smoker

My view on drinking

I drink occasionally

On the subject of children

I am an empty nester

Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?

Two of my three adult children and two of my grandkids live in the metro Charlotte NC area.  100 miles is the most I could relocate.

How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?

God saved me at age 17. My walk with God is stronger than ever because He brought me through deep waters to sanctify me.

How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?

The Doctrines of Grace have profoundly impacted my understanding of Scripture and my daily walk with Christ. As an ordained Elder, I fully subscribe to the Westminster Confession, Larger and Shorter Catechisms.

Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?

I have daily devotions, which include prayer, with guidance from a detailed prayer list. My Scripture reading is from the One Year Bible. I also read daily devotions from Spurgeon in the book “Beside Still Waters”. In addition, I read a variety of theological and devotional books Currently I am reading “Confessing the Faith (A readers guide to the Westminster Confession of Faith”) by Chad van Dixhoorn, “God is Always Better Than We Can Imagine” by Iain Wright, and “Princeton Seminary” by David Calhoun

Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?

Joseph, because he recognized that God was sovereignly ordaining every aspect of his life to glorify God and to be a blessing to his family. He was also strong in the face of temptation.

Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?

God is giving me present contentment but He is also giving me the desire to be married again. I agree with God, after he created all things “very good”, He said “It is NOT good that man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him (Gen 2:18)

What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?

Someone recently said about me “Gary is a very godly, kind and interesting man. He has a very sweet heart”. If I am any of those things, it is only by the grace of God.

What are three things you are most thankful for?

Salvation, my family, and my church

Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?

Spiritually mature, gentle and quiet spirit, submissive, trustworthy, intelligent, diligent, kind and compassionate, excellent reputation

Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?

I was led to faith in Christ by Louis Zamperini (from the book and movie “Unbroken”)

What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?

My wife died of cancer

How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?

Going on 5 years. God has carried me through “the valley of the shadow of death”. He has been absolutely faithful to meet my every need and strengthen my faith

Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?

The gospel song “Poor Wayfaring Stranger” speaks to my heart

What type of work do/did you do?

Database design, creation, maintenance, analysis, etc.

How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?

30+ years. Yes, I enjoy my work, which is a blessing from God

Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?

My life-long goal is to live my life to God’s glory and do all I can to prepare for heaven.

Where were you born and where have you traveled?

I was born in Montana. I have traveled or lived in most states. International includes England, Scotland, Uganda, Canada and Mexico

How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?

God has given me a love for playing music. Specifically I play Bluegrass, Celtic and Old-Time music on mandolin, fiddle, and banjo. I especially enjoy playing gospel songs at nursing homes.  For recreation, I love to walk and to hike.

Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?

I think I have a good sense of humor, and enjoy laughter with others.

About Me

See the rest of my profile 🙂

My Interests

Growing in grace and in the knowledge of God

Spending time with my family

Playing music at jam sessions

Going out on dates

New Report

Close