View Profile

Details

First Name

David

Username

davidstarcher

Nickname

davidstarcher

Gender

Male

Location

Sumner, WA, USA

Country

United State

State

Washington

City

Sumner

Zip

98390

Looking for

Marriage Minded

Marital Status

Divorced – with children

Christian Affiliation

Reformed Baptist

Race

Caucasian, Hispanic / Latino, Mixed

Height

5' 9"

Build

Overweight

Eye Color

Brown

Hair Color

Dark Brown

College /University

Portland State University, Portland OR.  (B.S. Psychology). I was halfway to completing my MBA at DeVry University but had to drop out when it became apparent that I was going to have to take over all responsibility for raising the kids.

Graduation Year

2006

Level of education

Bachelors

Employment

Self Employed

Occupation

eBay seller. I specialize in goods obtained from business surplus and liquidation.

Company

my business is just my name. I don’t use a fictitious name.

Seeking Ethnicity (those I am willing to date)

Any

My ideal place to live

A farm/cottage in the country

My view on smoking

I am a non-smoker

My view on drinking

I rarely drink

On the subject of children

I have children and would gladly accept someone elses's

Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?

I have five children 1 girl and 4 boys; the youngest is 8 and the oldest 14. I would be unable to relocate out of the state because I run a business which occupies a 1,200 sq ft warehouse and because my parenting plan requires I allow visitation to the children’s mother.

How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?

I was probably about 12 when I first realized that I was hopelessly in sin and placed my hope of salvation completely on Jesus Christ. However I was being raised in a anti-trinitarian christian sect and it was not until I was 25 and attending university in which I learned and embraced a proper understanding of the Doctrines of Grace. I am a member in good standing at Sovereign Grace Baptist Church, Enumclaw WA and have been for the last 6 years and for 7 years at Trinity Reformed Baptist Church, Kirkland, WA before that. Jesus Christ is my reason for living and I depend on him for everything.

How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?

The Doctrines of Grace brought clarity and consistency to my understanding of the gospel and how I viewed the world. Consequently it affects my decision in all of my life including how I raise my children and run my business.

Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?

I do not have an official “Quiet Time” but I am constantly studying the word by reading and listening to audio sermons and podcasts (James R White – The Dividing Line, Iron sharpens Iron, Apologia Studios, The White Horse Inn, etc). I also spend lots of time reviewing and preparing materials to teach my children in our family worship times. I am reading “When You Pray: Making the Lord’s Prayer Your Own” by Philip Graham Ryken and “The Secret Key to Heaven: The Vital Importance of Private Prayer” by Thomas Brooks. I am also listening to audio series in 1 Chronicles in the Old Testament.

Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?

Job. Demonstrates a Godly attitude in adverse circumstances that often seem to make no sense from a human standpoint.

Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?

No. Being a single dad is hard. I have tasted marriage and know what a blessing it could be. I am lonely and seek someone to share my life with.

What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?

Honesty, Loyalty, Consistency, and Logical

What are three things you are most thankful for?

My Salvation in Jesus Christ, My children, and my church.

Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?

I look for someone whose character is Godly. I don’t seek perfection but a faithful Christian ought to seek out Godly living in every aspect of their life and not just on Sundays or when others are watching. A Christian ought to understand that life is a battleground not a playground in which to seek our best life now. I also look for a woman who is good with children. I do believe that in a marriage relationship the wife should be a keeper of the home but I do not believe that that role limits her to the home and have no problem with a wife seeking outside employment to help support the family; the view that states otherwise is a tradition which can’t consistently harmonize scripture and fails the test of history . My own personality tends to be introverted and serious minded. I have gotten along with all types of people and generally don’t put much stock in personality being a primary factor in relationships. Commonality of goals and beliefs is far more important.

Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?

Jesus by far. I have also been heavily influenced by Christian apologist James R White. the late Dr. R.C. Sproul., and my former pastor’s Don and Stefan Lindblad.

What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?

I am divorced due to the abuse, neglect, unfaithfulness of my first wife. The court insisted that the children have no unsupervised access to their mother as a condition for their being returned home from state custody. After a number of years living apart with a legal separation she not only was completely unrepentant of everything she had done to me and the kids but admitted that she was sleeping with other men. Consequently I divorced her.

How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?

In late 2012 I was compelled to request a protection order to have my wife removed from the home due to domestic violence and we have not lived together since that time.; the children had already been removed by the state due to her neglect. The children were return to my sole custody in late 2013. The legal separation became effective beginning of 2014 and this was changed to a divorce at the beginning of 2019. I have to always balance my work schedule and taking care of the five kids. When they were first returned the youngest were still in diapers and most had significant developmental delays; today they have caught up or exceeded their peers in almost all areas. Child support is owed to me but is not and likely never will be paid consequently I continue to trust in the Lord to bless my work and the faithfulness of the members of my church to help me to raise the five children and financially support them.

Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?

“They say it only takes a little faith

To move a mountain

Well, good thing

A little faith is all I have right now

But God, when You choose

To leave mountains unmovable

Give me the strength to be able to sing

It is well with my soul

 

I know You’re able and I know You can

Save through the fire with Your mighty hand

But even if You don’t

My hope is You alone

I know the sorrow, and I know the hurt

Would all go away if You’d just say the word

But even if You don’t

My hope is You alone” Even If by MercyMe

What type of work do/did you do?

I primarily purchase business liquidation and surplus and resell it on eBay

How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?

I have been selling on eBay since 1997. Yes I enjoy the work itself but even more the freedom of having a flexible schedule to take care of my family, work in a sanctified atmosphere, and not have to deal with political correctness.

Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?

To serve and glorify God in all that I do wherever he puts me regardless of the humbleness or difficulty of the circumstances and to end well.

Where were you born and where have you traveled?

I was born in Anaheim, CA and raised in Oregon City, OR. I have traveled outside the USA to Canada, Mexico, and Brazil and inside the USA to many states at some point or another.

How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?

I like to read, play computer games, visit museums, hike, and camp.

About Me

I am 5 ft 9” and weigh 213 lbs which is actually a lot less than years past but it does still make me overweight. I have no serious medical problems. My father is white of mixed european ancestry and my mother is of Mexican ancestry with her father migrating to this country under the  Bracero program during WWII and later obtaining permanent residency until he died.   I only speak English but I inherited the love of hot and spicy food and the large family values from my mother and my strong  work ethic and unwavering commitment to the family from my father.  Politically I am Conservative with Libertarian leanings (prefer a small unobtrusive government); I am Pro-life and for the death penalty.  I am a very accommodating easy going  guy, dislike conflict, and will go out of my way to avoid it so long as it is not a moral issue.  I dislike large crowds  and prefer small gatherings and one on one conversation.

My Interests

Theology, Apologetics, Biblical history,  My family, History, Science, Outdoors/nature, computers, science fiction, and politics . I am not a sports fan and do not care to become one.  I do not  normally watch cable or TV  shows.

New Report

Close