View Profile

Details

First Name

Laurie

Username

catlady

Nickname

catlady

Gender

Female

Date of Birth

60 years, 7 months ago

Location

Sumter, SC, USA

Country

United States

State

South Carolina

City

Sumter

Looking for

Male, Potential Courtship, Friendship

Marital Status

Divorced – no children

Christian Affiliation

Presbyterian Church in America (PCA)

Race

Caucasian

Height

5' 2"

Build

Extra Pounds

Eye Color

Blue

Hair Color

Multicolored

College /University

Tennessee Temple University

Graduation Year

1983

Level of education

Bachelors

Employment

Self Employed

Occupation

At-home Freelance Transcription

Online-only Avon Rep

Sell handmade greeting cards on Etsy

Company

TranscribeMe!

Avon

Etsy

Seeking Ethnicity (those I am willing to date)

Caucasian

My ideal place to live

In the suburbs

My view on smoking

I don't smoke and I don't like to be around smokers

My view on drinking

I drink occasionally

On the subject of children

I don't want any

Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?

I have one older sister who lives with her family in Upstate NY. I love living in Sumter, SC, and my church family means a great deal to me, so I do not wish to relocate.

How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?

I was 13 when God used Ephesians 2:8-9 to show me that I could not be saved by my own “good works” but only by grace through faith in Him.

My Christian walk remains strong.

How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?

It keeps me humble, always staying mindful that there is nothing I could ever do to earn my salvation or any of the good things that come with that.

Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?

Not always at a set time, but these days sometime in the evenings tends to work best. Lately, I’ve been using the Reformation Reading Plan via the YouVersion Bible App.

Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?

I relate to Barnabas, because he wasn’t who one might consider a “main character” in the Bible, yet was an encourager behind the scenes and made a difference for the cause of Christ and in the lives of others, especially Paul who God used to write so many wonderful New Testament books.

Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?

Yes, I’m actually very content being single right now. It certainly has its advantages. It helps that I’m an introvert, lol. But, of course, marriage has its advantages, as well, and I do miss that kind of companionship at times. The real key to contentment is godliness, being in God’s will, so whether He wants me to stay single for what’s left of my life here or at some point leads me to another marriage relationship, I will be content.

What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?

I hear “sweet” a lot (like shy/awkward but sweet, lol). Hmm…others I guess would be witty, wise, and maybe creative (at least when it comes to making greeting cards).

What are three things you are most thankful for?

God’s faithfulness, my amazing church family, and my three cats.

Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?

Patience, good listener, faithfulness, kind, understanding or seeks to understand, encouraging, funny or witty, enjoys the simple things in life, likes animals (especially cats, lol), and a fellow introvert would be nice (someone I could relate to in that way and vice versa).

Mine would be introverted, encouraging, witty, organized, creative, NOT a thrill seeker but one who enjoys simpler things in life, and I think fairly wise and discerning.

Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?

My pastor and youth pastor when I was a new believer. They discipled me well in all my teen years. Now, I’d say my pastor who is so gifted at listening, encouraging, and carefully preaching and teaching God’s Word. And, also, other church family who have been there for me in various ways and who I have learned from as well as been able to be some type of blessing in their lives.

What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?

Sudden and unexpected abandonment by my husband of 36 years and his unwillingness to genuinely seek reconciliation and his continued determination to go through with the divorce, which occurred just after our 37th anniversary. As they say, it’s complicated, but the main two contributing factors were the discovery of sexual sin in an online relationship that, had she not been catfishing him, he clearly had intentions of committing in-person adultery with, and worsening mental illness that he was dealing with in the last couple of years of our marriage (PTSD from his past family situation). Of course, there are tons of details that happened or were discovered along the way, and I have no problem discussing those, as needed. But this was it in a nutshell.

How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?

It has been one year now. First and foremost, God (and His Word) got me through it and continues to do so, of course. But he also used the wonderful support (spiritually, emotionally, and practically) of my church family and various other family and friends. And, it may sound strange, but He even used my cats as comforting emotional support, including bringing me a stray kitten and orchestrating things just right so that I could take her in.

Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?

My all-time favorite Hymn is How Firm a Foundation.

Too many Scriptures to mention, but one is 1 Timothy 6:6 “But godliness with contentment is great gain,”.

From Mr. Holland’s Opus:

Adult Gertrude Lang speaking:“Mr. Holland had a profound influence on my life and on a lot of lives I know. But I have a feeling that he considers a great part of his own life misspent. Rumor had it he was always working on this symphony of his. And this was going to make him famous, rich, probably both. But Mr. Holland isn’t rich and he isn’t famous, at least not outside of our little town. So it might be easy for him to think himself a failure. But he would be wrong, because I think that he’s achieved a success far beyond riches and fame. Look around you. There is not a life in this room that you have not touched, and each of us is a better person because of you. We are your symphony Mr. Holland. We are the melodies and the notes of your opus. We are the music of your life.”

What type of work do/did you do?

Worked in the secretarial field for many years until it just got harder to manage due to CFS (Chronic Fatigue Syndrome) issues. Was strictly a homemaker for about 13 years but occasionally sold Avon online or Stampin’ Up! products a time or two within those years. Now, I do freelance transcription with TranscribeMe!, help to digitize old sermon cassettes for my church, and occasionally make sales online through Avon or selling handmade greeting card sets on Etsy.

How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?

As for the years working outside the home in the secretarial field, it was a mixture of enjoyment and frustration along the way, depending on the company or who the manager was or whatever.

A year or so for the transcription work, which I really enjoy. Close to a year for the digitizing…I might not enjoy it AS much as some things, but it’s a blessing to be able to do it for my church and that they have provided it as a way for me to make some money since I found myself on my own. I love to make greeting cards as I have time, so I enjoy trying to sell some of those sets on Etsy. I’ve been making cards now for several years but only started selling them on Etsy in the last year. I’ve lost track of how long I’ve had my Avon store. I enjoy their products and sporadically get a sale there but nothing to write home about. I keep it active because it’s free to do so and to keep getting products for myself and save some money on them.

Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?

Just that my life, in one way or another, will bring glory to God and people might be better in some way having known me.

Where were you born and where have you traveled?

I was born in Lockport, NY. Grew up in Newfane, NY. I’m not a huge traveler. I don’t fly or travel by boat…strictly a land-lover, lol. But I’ve been to Niagara Falls, Toronto, Canada. I lived in Schroon Lake, NY, for a year while at Word of Life Bible Institute. I lived in Chattanooga, TN, for three years while attending Tennessee Temple University. Have lived in various places in the Atlanta, GA, area in the span of about 20 years. Have been to Disney World in Florida a long time ago. Have visited Aiken, SC, where my former Father-in-law lived. In recent years, I have enjoyed going to Columbia, SC, and Myrtle Beach, SC.

How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?

At home, I enjoy watching TV, playing certain games on my phone, connecting with people on Social Media, stamping (making greeting cards), and reading.

Outside the home, I enjoy things like zoo or beach trips, museums, plays or concerts, movies, eating out, miniature golf, a walk at a local park, game nights with friends, things like that.

Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?

Not that I can think of right now.

About Me

I think some of the other questions kind of covered this, but if you have questions, just ask.

My Interests

Again, think this was sort of covered already. But, I will add time with my church family, my three “cat-children,” and doing any of those things mentioned in previous questions.

New Report

Close