Members

alisonhope
alisonhope other details
  • Looking for:
    Marriage Minded
  • Marital Status:
    Single - Never Married
  • Christian Affiliation:
    Reformed
  • Race:
    Asian
  • Height:
    5' 2"
  • Build:
    Skinny
  • Eye Color:
    Brown
  • Hair Color:
    Dark Brown
  • College /University:
    I have a BA and MBA, now studying towards my LLB, will eventually finish my LLM in the US.
  • Graduation Year:
    2020
  • Level of education:
    Masters
  • Employment:
    Student
  • Occupation:
    Student
  • Company:
    NA
  • Income:
    Not Stated
  • Seeking Ethnicity:
    Caucasian
  • My ideal place to live:
    In the suburbs
  • My view on smoking:
    I am a non-smoker
  • My view on drinking:
    I rarely drink
  • On the subject of children:
    I don't know/not sure/if God wills
  • Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?:
    I would relocate to anywhere in the US.
  • How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?:
    I was 26 when I received Christ. At the very beginning I did not know what it really meant to follow Christ. As I grew in my faith, I learned more about the love of Christ and the fuller extent of what it means to really follow Christ. My walk with the Lord hasn't been easy, especially as the more I understood the glory of God. Short answer is, that my Christian walk has its ups and downs.
  • How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?:
    I learned about the truth (TULIP) just 2 years ago. It makes so much more sense. How has it changed my life? It has made me understood more of how sovereign God really is, and how much Christ loves us if you're looking at it from a perspective of that God doesn't have to save anyone in the first place.
  • Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?:
    I don't have a specific "Quiet Time". Right now I'm going through the Book of Revelation with sermons from John Macarthur.
  • Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?:
    I don't have a favorite Biblical Character.
  • Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?:
    Ha. No, I see my friends having partners who are there to go through the tough and good times with them and I want that too. Moreover, Ecclesiastes 4:9-12.
  • What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?:
    Loyal, thoughtful, funny, direct.
  • What are three things you are most thankful for?:
    God, the fact that I'm far from being in poverty (being from Canada and have it be one of 10 richest countries in the world), and my health.
  • Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?:
    I find it really attractive when a man is humble, not afraid to seek Christian council and able to express and show his emotions. Pride is a sin and it's very ugly, no matter how good-looking you are on the outside. I am very caring and understanding, I've been told by many of my friends anyways. I'm also very affectionate and committed.
  • Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?:
    I don't think I have any.
  • What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?:
    I think how the failure of my parents' marriage affected me greatly, more than I thought. On top of that, like many of us, it's just bad choices that I've made, getting into relationships that I shouldn't have, staying in relationships that I knew wasn't right and longer than I should have. God was just never involved, and I'd like to change that.
  • How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?:
    On my own? Not sure what this means. I left home when I was 17 to go to university. I've been single for almost 3 years now.
  • Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?:
    How can you refuse him now by Brooke Fraser.
  • What type of work do/did you do?:
    I worked as a business consultant for 10+ years. Now studying to become an attorney.
  • How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?:
    I enjoyed being a business consultant but I feel that my time in business has come to an end. I was made redundant in March 2020 due to COVID-19 and there I had a change of heart / awakening moment that I wanted to become an attorney.
  • Where were you born and where have you traveled?:
    I was born in Hong Kong. I've traveled to over 45 countries...too long to list here, msg me and ask me.
  • How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?:
    Crochet, playing the guitar and reading / watching sermons.
  • Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?:
    Yes, if you love dogs, +5 points for you. If you love BIG dogs, +10 points for you! lol
  • About Me:
    Chinese-Canadian with an international background - by that I mean I've traveled to over 45 countries and have lived in 8. After 10+ years working in business I've decided to switch career and now studying towards a law degree to be an attorney. I'm attending school right now in the Netherlands but next year I'll be transferring and finishing my degree in the US, with the end goal of practicing law and settling in the US.

    I've got amazing, interesting stories to tell from living in all different kinds of places. Many people asked me why I want to move to the US. Actually, one of the reasons is that there aren't so many reformed Christians here. At least the reformed Christians here in the Netherlands look very different than the reformed Christians in North America. I've only met one Calvinist here in the last 5 years, the rest are more continuationists and Arminians.
  • My Interests:
    As COVID-19 has affected many of us, things just started to open up here in the last month so I'm slowly picking up my social life again. I go to the gym 2-3 times a week, I like to cook for my friends, crochet (I know..a bit nerdy, but you'll appreciate it once I make you a sweater ha), playing guitar and reading Christian-based, non-fiction books. Before COVID-19, I also liked to go salsa dancing and practice MMA but I don't have so much time now as I'm preparing for school.
Virtual Gifts

You must log in to send virtual gifts.