Members

Stonewallj1863
Stonewallj1863 other details
  • Looking for:
    Friendship, Potential Courtship
  • Marital Status:
    Divorced - grown adult children
  • Christian Affiliation:
    Reformed Baptist
  • Race:
    Caucasian
  • Height:
    6' 3"
  • Build:
    Athletic
  • Eye Color:
    Brown
  • Hair Color:
    White
  • College /University:
    B.A. from Berry College in Rome, Georgia, 1979 M.Div. from Luther Rice Seminary, 1984
  • Graduation Year:
    1979
  • Level of education:
    Masters
  • Employment:
    Full Time
  • Occupation:
    Maintenance for the bank branches.
  • Company:
    Synovus Bank
  • Income:
    Not Stated
  • Seeking Ethnicity:
    Any
  • My ideal place to live:
    In a small town
  • My view on smoking:
    I am a non-smoker
  • My view on drinking:
    I rarely drink
  • On the subject of children:
    I am an empty nester
  • Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?:
    Two sons and a daughter in their thirties. I like where I live in Albany. Served as a pastor here for 27 years at Sovereign Grace Baptist Church. My house is paid for, but I would be willing to relocate if that happens to be God's plan for my life.
  • How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?:
    I was raised in the ALC of the Lutheran Church, but never heard the gospel proclaimed. The Lord used the death of my grandfather and great-grandmother while I was in junior high to prepare me for salvation. I heard a message by Billy Graham while watching TV in my living room in the ninth grade. Came under deep conviction of my sin, but also understood (for the first time) that salvation was provided through Jesus Christ. In the privacy of my bedroom I cried out to the Lord to save me, and He did. A great peace enveloped my heart, and my life was forever changed. 48 years later I am still knowing and enjoying the presence of Christ in my daily life. He has preserved me as He promised, and I thank Him for that. His Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.
  • How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?:
    They revolutionized my life in seminary and later in my early ministry as a pastor. I first encountered the doctrines of grace by reading Pink's book, "The Sovereignty of God," in college. Rather, I should say I first resisted what Pink was setting forth in that classic work, but the Spirit of God later enlightened me to those precious truths and the authority of God's Word to set forth the God of the Scriptures. I think a little book by J.B. Phillips was entitled, "Your God is Too Small." The doctrines of grace make God great and man small. As Chapel Library declares, "To humble the pride of man, to exalt the grace of God in salvation, and to promote real holiness in heart and life."
  • Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?:
    Presently, I start my day by reading from Spurgeon's "Morning and Evening," the daily reading from the book, "Daily Light," and a prayer from "The Valley of Vision." I also read from the Scriptures. I'm not really studying anything right now, just reading from several books such as "The Works of Toplady"; "The Lord's Prayer" by Thomas Watson; and various confessions of faith and catechisms.
  • Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?:
    Wouldn't say I have any favorite Bible character, but I am challenged by the lives of Mordecai, Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael, and Azariah. Men with deep convictions who unflinchingly stood for the truth. I remember an old LP cover by the late singer Keith Green that showed artwork of Mordecai standing while everyone else was bowing before Haman as he was paraded through the streets. True conviction!
  • Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?:
    Yes and no. After 37 years of marriage I now find myself where I never thought I would be: single. Divorced. There are positives to being single, but the desire is ever present for fellowship, companionship, communication, laughter, sharing, etc. I do not know God's will for my future and I have no desire to chart my own plans, but I am waiting on Him for direction. If the Lord wants me to be single for the rest of my life, then that is what I will be. If He has other plans, that will be great.
  • What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?:
    I've never asked any Christian brothers, but I guess they might say truthful, serious, giving, and happy.
  • What are three things you are most thankful for?:
    That God the Father chose me in eternity past in lovingkindness, Christ Jesus accomplished a perfect atonement (in time)that included me, and the Spirit of God regenerated me according to His perfect timetable. Who can comprehend such a love? such a plan? Second, I am thankful for the home I grew up in. My parents provided my two sisters and me with unconditional love, security, encouragement, involvement, and hundreds of gracious memories. I thank God for my precious mother and my faithful father. Third, I am thankful for examples of Christians throughout history and for those in our own generation who served as examples of godliness and steadfastness before my eyes.
  • Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?:
    I am attracted to those who smile a lot, like to laugh, and are positive. I like to be around those who walk humbly with God and are not puffed up with their biblical knowledge, and I am attracted to those men and women who let you be yourself, not always putting you under their theological microscope to see if you are measuring up to their standards (Thankfully, there have only been a few through the years, but I'm thinking primarily of people I knew involved in ATI). My personality traits? Uh, again, I need to ask others. But I would say that my personality traits include a lot of laughter with those I love and with my friends. I trust I am courteous, loyal, committed, and loving.
  • Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?:
    Hmmm. There have been a number of people whose names would mean nothing to anyone on SGS, but one of the great influences in my life was Coach Bob Douce, my high-school basketball coach. I will never forget him and the things I learned from him, and the things he taught us to believe in. My best friend in life is a man named Bubba who sat under my preaching ministry for 25 years. His fellowship was always refreshing and beneficial, and he often challenged me by his encouragement and his knowledge of church history and the Scriptures.
  • What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?:
    Westminster Confession of Faith, Chapter 24: "Of Marriage and Divorce," Section 6 states "...or such willful desertion as can no way be remedied by the Church or civil magistrate, is cause sufficient of dissolving the bond of marriage." There was no adultery involved, no alcoholism, no physical abuse, no gambling, yet she willfully violated the covenant of marriage. Nouthetic counseling was abandoned after three sessions. Jeremiah 3:20
  • How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?:
    My ex-wife and I were living in a bona fide separation since June 2019. Divorce papers were served the first week of October 2019. The judge signed off on the divorce papers the first week of May 2020. To get through the frustrations and disintegration of my marriage I kept my nose in the Book, prayed, and shared my struggles with my parents, a pastor, and a close friend.
  • Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?:
    Martin Luther: "There are only two days I am concerned about: today and the day of judgment." Robert Murray McCheynne: "For every look at yourself, take ten looks at Christ." "When you set out on a journey of revenge, dig two graves: one for your enemy, and one for yourself." Chinese proverb "Best day ever." Sponge-bob
  • What type of work do/did you do?:
    I was in the ministry for thirty-four years, having served churches in Pelham, GA; Medford, Oregon; and Leesburg, GA. I was the pastor of Sovereign Grace Baptist Church in Leesburg for 27 years.
  • How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?:
    Answered above. I thought I would be a pastor until the day I died. I began working at Synovus Bank 11 years ago on a part-time basis as a maintenance man in order to have better health insurance with Blue Cross/Blue Shield. I still work three days a week at Synovus.
  • Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?:
    A life-long goal came to me yesterday while reading missionary updates in the summer/fall issue of "The Sovereign Grace Messenger." As God provides financial means, I want to do all in my power to financially support missionaries (and their families) like Trevor Johnson and Paul Snider who are seeking to minister in Papua, Indonesia, but are struggling with physical breakdowns, severe chronic pain and fatigue, depression, and other difficulties, as well as having their children struggling with various problems.
  • Where were you born and where have you traveled?:
    I was born in LA, California because my dad was stationed there while in the Marine Corps, but my parents moved to Jacksonville, Florida when I was less than two years old. I grew up in Jacksonville, went to Berry College in Rome, GA, attempted to start a new Baptist church in Medford, Oregon (we were there for 1 year and 3 months), and have lived most of my life in Georgia since graduating from college. I have traveled through numerous states over the years and visited relatives in Indiana and Connecticut.
  • How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?:
    Don't have much leisure time. Always working. Painting, pressure-washing, hanging sheetrock, installing new faucets, cutting grass, hanging doors, and on-and-on. When I do have leisure time I read and/or listen to music. As far as recreation I do pushups every day and lift a few weights. I am also attempting to learn shuffle dancing, which whips my butt each night I practice in my living room. (Is it okay to use the word "butt" on this website?) I discovered that dancing is hard work. You've got to be in shape. I have a kayak that needs to get back into the local creek, but when? Kayaking on the Kinchafoonee Creek is a "big thing" in this area.
  • Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?:
    Yeah, my weight. And let me add...for anyone who might be interested...two songs that can be found on youtube that set forth my feelings concerning what I am looking and hoping for with a Christian woman. The first is from a Christian artist from the 1970s era and the second one from a secular group, a song I've heard while practicing shuffle dancing: ["Song for Sarah" by Randy Stonehill]; [The Chainsmokers & Coldplay - "Something Just Like This (Lyrics)"]
  • About Me:
    Dr. Robert Cook used to say on his radio program: "Walk with the King today, and be a blessing." That is my desire.

    It has come to my attention that I need to make known that I cannot enter into a relationship that involves cats. I am extremely allergic to cats. As far as dogs, I could have a yard dog, but not an indoor dog.

    Profile picture from my parent's backyard.
  • My Interests:
    Always loved basketball. Played at the YMCA until I was fifty years old, but looked in the mirror one morning and realized I needed to hang the shoes up.

    Enjoy shooting handguns and rifles at the local shooting range, but haven't had an opportunity to do that the past year.

    Have always had a great interest in systematic theology, the Civil War, and church history.

    Other interests: worship, shuffle dancing and bird watching.












Virtual Gifts

You must log in to send virtual gifts.