View Profile

Details

First Name

Abigail

Username

smittysista

Nickname

smittysista

Gender

Female

Date of Birth

23 years, 5 months ago

Location

California, USA

Country

United States

State

California

City

Sonora

Looking for

Male, Marriage Minded

Marital Status

Single – Never Married

Christian Affiliation

Non-denominational

Race

Caucasian

Height

5' 2"

Build

Small / Petite

Eye Color

Blue

Hair Color

Brown

College /University

Loma Linda University

Graduation Year

2020

Level of education

Bachelors

Employment

Full Time

Occupation

School Nurse

Company

Public Schools

Seeking Ethnicity (those I am willing to date)

Any

My ideal place to live

In a small town

My view on smoking

I don't smoke and I don't like to be around smokers

My view on drinking

I don't drink, but don't mind others drinking in moderation

On the subject of children

I would like to have children one day

Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?

I grew up in a home with two loving parents and three older brothers who have teased me to no end, have toughened me up a bit, but have also been my very best friends. I live with my parents at this time as all three of my brothers have flown the nest and married. I now have three sisters-in-law who may as well be blood-related, a niece on the verge of walking with lots to say, and a niece on the way! I absolutely love my family.

I am not opposed to relocating. California has served me well for my 23 years of life and while I don’t want to live in the mindset that the “grass is greener on the other side,” well, it may be true with any location compared to California! (for those of you not up on California, just check out our politics, our wildfires, and our constant state of drought, yuck!)

How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?

I came to Christ when I was 5 years old. While I truly believe that I understood what it meant to be a Christian, I believe I really began to grow in my walk during high school. I took classes on the college campus at this time and became involved with a college ministry. I began to take responsibility for my faith during this time and had the opportunity to witness to professors and classmates. In response to questions I received, I had to figure out what I believed. I also began to read my Bible faithfully during this time, in comparison to my elementary habit of starting in Genesis, making it to mid-Leviticus, losing interest and track of where I was, and then starting over.

Since this time, my family and I have experienced our own reformation (minus the 95 theses and nails). We went from solely attending an Evangelical Free Church to attending the same church and a Biblical Counseling conference, listening to sermons online, attending small groups, and lots more. We now have a small group of individuals in our church who are staunch supporters of the sufficiency and inerrancy of Scripture and the Sovereignty of God. It has been a fun journey for us all and has provided me with a dear community of like-minded friends.

How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?

The biggest change in my life came when I began to truly comprehend what it meant for God to be Sovereign. Growing up in a “non-reformed” circle, this wasn’t an attribute we threw around much. But as I began to chew and mull over this characteristic, I found true peace and joy despite my circumstances. Don’t get me wrong, anxiety, fear, and worry still creep in at times, but when I quiet my mind and dwell on God’s Sovereignty in all times, places, and situations, my whole perspective changes.

Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?

My quiet time is in the morning before work. I usually wake up between 5 and 5:30, pad into our living room in my slippers with a cup of coffee in hand, and have my quiet time. Consistency is hard at times, but I treasure the quiet times to myself. I have been using the same devotional for a couple of years, New Morning Mercies by Paul David Tripp, but every morning it still hits home. I was reading in a few different sections of my Bible, but have paused this, for now, to read my book for my small group, Anger, Anxiety, and Fear by Stuart Scott. It is a really small book but is packed with profound truth and I read the scripture passages associated. When I am not going through a book with my small group, I often will be reading a book of the Bible in addition to a few pages of a more “intellectual” book.

Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?

I would have to say, Daniel. After doing a study on the book of Daniel with our Women’s ministry, I was struck by the resolve that Daniel and his three friends show multiple times. Being a youth/young adult in this increasingly difficult world, I desire to have the resolve not to be swayed.

Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?

Contentment is really difficult. When I focus on the community, the experiences, the family, and the overall life that God has given me, I am content and so grateful. Yet, I have also seen through all three of my brothers, as well as my parents, of course, the sweetness of two people coming together to balance their strengths and weaknesses and live life together. So, while I desire to choose contentment in this season of my life, I also desire more. Don’t get me wrong, my niece and I are partners-in-crime at family gatherings, but I’d love to not be the third wheel when the kids go to bed.

What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?

honest, kind, thoughtful, energetic

What are three things you are most thankful for?

1. Salvation when there is nothing I have done or could ever do to deserve it

2. People: my dear family and my sweet friends who love me despite my imperfections

3. My adorable Golden Retriever, Rosie, who has the biggest puppy eyes and heart

3.1 weather/seasons (especially fall and winter)/stars/autumn leaves/rainy days/ hot chocolate by the fire with a good book and a blankie….

Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?

I’d like to think about this question further, but for starters, these people have written great books. Through their written word, they have influenced me:

– Some books that really opened my eyes and helped me understand myself: Gospel Treason by Brad Bigney, Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis, Stuart Scott’s booklet on Anger, Anxiety, and Fear

– Some really encouraging/thought-provoking books: Trusting God by Jerry Bridges, Devoted to God by Sinclair Ferguson (I’m not even halfway through yet, but it’s been really good!), Fearfully and Wonderfully Made by Dr. Paul Brand

What type of work do/did you do?

My last three jobs and one internship have been in nursing. I have really enjoyed opportunities to explore what community nursing can look like. I have worked with adults and children with chronic medical conditions and/or intellectual delays.

How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?

I have been a nurse for 2 1/2 years. I enjoy working with kids, adults and kids with intellectual delays, and I love education and presently, I am combining the three in my work as a school nurse.

Where were you born and where have you traveled?

I have lived in the same place, the same street, the same house my whole life. I love my small town and am only saddened to watch it change over the past years as bay area influence has seeped in.

Traveling is one of my favorite things. My family and I found, early on, cruising to be very doable for a family of six. Thus, we’ve been on numerous Mexican Riviera Cruises. We’ve been on a Caribbean cruise and later went back to stay on Cozumel and then on the Grand Cayman. One of my earliest international destinations was Juarez, Mexico for a missions trip. We have since been to Poland twice to run an American English Camp for Polish youth. And then to the Dominican Republic twice with Students International… I went once with family for a two-week trip and then again in 2019 by myself for 2 and a half months.

How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?

I love to read. Especially historical fiction. Or Christian fiction (i.e. slightly cheesy chick-flicks in book form that are oh so relatable).

I also really enjoy sewing, well, mostly quilting. I learned when I was in 6th grade from two older women at our church who shared their passion for making art usable, warm, and comfy. My mom and I continue to this day. It’s one of our favorite things to do on a cold afternoon or evening. I have lost track of how many quilts I have made (so don’t ask) but I am always assured of having a quilt on my bed to match the season.

The usual coffee shop visits, thrift storing, consignment shopping ( I love a bargain) with friends.

I really like historical movies (can you tell I would have been a history major if I wasn’t a nurse) but also some good, clean chick-flicks.

Oh, how could I forget, games? My mother raised us on games as soon as we were old enough that she wouldn’t feel too guilty beating us. My family plays games, whether card, dice, or board, almost every time we are together. My mom used to pull me away from studying to play a game with her.

And I really like food. So, I have learned to make my own. I especially like baking, canning, bread making, and oh did I mention I make a mean cheesecake?

New Report

Close