Members

Matthew111213
Matthew111213 other details
  • Looking for:
    Marriage Minded
  • Marital Status:
    Divorced - no children
  • Christian Affiliation:
    Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church (ARP), Orthodox Presbyterian Church (OPC)
  • Race:
    Caucasian
  • Height:
    6' 2"
  • Build:
    Skinny
  • Eye Color:
    Hazel
  • Hair Color:
    Auburn
  • College /University:
    NC State for engineering, then Liberty for theology (before the personal reformation)
  • Graduation Year:
    2012
  • Level of education:
    Bachelors
  • Employment:
    Full Time
  • Occupation:
    Insurance adjuster
  • Company:
    NGIC
  • Income:
    20-60K
  • Seeking Ethnicity:
    Any
  • My ideal place to live:
    A cabin in the woods
  • My view on smoking:
    I am a non-smoker
  • My view on drinking:
    I rarely drink
  • On the subject of children:
    I would like to have children one day
  • Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?:
    I have one brother, and several step siblings. All my family love within 15 minutes of one another and I'm about 40 minutes away. I would relocate.
  • How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?:
    I came to know the Lord at 26. I was saved from some pretty radical circumstances. I think I'm moving from being a new Christian to whatever's after that. As a new Christian, I thought at some point you'd grow in the Christian walk and just 'arrive' and just not sin so much. While I know the sins aren't as great, they certainly do bother me more. For some time I was sad about that but I'm coming to the stage where I know perfection doesn't come in this life and I need to continually rely on grace.
  • How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?:
    More than this box will hold. To reduce it to the most important truth reminds me of what scared me so much as a child going to church. I thought that it only took one sin to send me back to hell after an alter call. Being reformed, now I know Psalm 27:13, I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD In the land of the living.
  • Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?:
    I do have a quiet time. I reading Luke and Acts now. I always try to read them in continuity. On Sunday's I pray through the Proverbs and Psalms
  • Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?:
    Second place often changes but who could not say the Lord for obvious reasons. Second place for so long it was Joseph for continuing to endure, but now I think it's Daniel. Daniel had the right balance of boldness with wisdom about when you act.
  • Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?:
    I'm not content being single, though the discontentment waxes and wanes. I was made in such a way so as to need a someone. Adam was inherently righteous and did so. How much more this babbling fool? Also, from the time God saved me I've wanted a family. It was like a light switch turning on.
  • What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?:
    Knowledgeable, dedicated, funny, outgoing
  • What are three things you are most thankful for?:
    The initial and ongoing work of the Lord in my life would be the first two. I'm really thankful for so many people that have been helpful in several different ways.
  • Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?:
    I'm going to apply this to the woman I'd like to be with, since this wasn't so specific. I want to be with someone who wants to apply the Word to their whole life. At the same time, I want someone who can have balance between seriousness and being well, less serious. I really like to have fun and laugh, and would like to share this with whomever the Lord may have for me.
  • Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?:
    My last pastor. Not only in preaching, but in practice, he is a man who seemingly makes ten talents out of one. When he preached, it was as if he wasn't afraid of people's response to his boldness, but could fashion hard truths with a delicateness that a shepherd should. Through those three years there I had to face up to who I really was, and start striving for something better. On the internet, Paul Washer. In books, Charles Spurgeon.
  • What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?:
    My last relationship ended a couple of years ago. I met a very admirable Christian lady, but whatever that thing is that makes you fall in love with someone didn't happen. She recognized it, and I had to be the one to apply the difficult solution. (This was not the marriage that ended, as this if discussed won't be posted here. It was a Biblical divorce.)
  • How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?:
    I've been single two years. I'm getting through it by knowing that God is all powerful, all wise, and benevolent, and so singleness must be what I need until I meet my bride.
  • Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?:
    Isaiah 12 puts so much in to do few words.
  • What type of work do/did you do?:
    I'm an insurance adjuster full time. I do bookkeeping part time for someone with whom I used to go to church who runs a clothing business and a non profit. I recently started doing food delivery in the evenings.
  • How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?:
    I've been in insurance there years now. I do like it and would like to stay in it but advance.
  • Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?:
    I'd like to have some land and live to see grandchildren. At some point I'd like to help in church leadership. I'd like to be able to send educational materials to new Christians, particularly abroad and in their own languages. I know that this walk is an ongoing process of sanctification and there have been so many times that other Christian resources have been off great blessing to me, and want that growth for others also. My greater aspirations I'll keep concealed from public for now. It's not being a missionary. I know that's seemingly the pinnacle of spirituality but some people have to hold the rope for those going down into the well.
  • Where were you born and where have you traveled?:
    But for a brief time in SC, I've lived in NC my whole life. I've traveled domestically to Georgia and DC in the last five years. I've been to Guatemala and Germany internationally in the past ten.
  • How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?:
    With the shortest amount of leisure time I keep up with politics and economics. With more I like to go to the gym and to go to the gun range. With a whole night I like to see the arts live, namely music and plays. I like movies less just because the content not the medium.
  • Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?:
    Yes. I'm an amputee. I lost my left leg in a car accident when I was 20. For the most part, life looks pretty normal, but there are some parts that can be either difficult, more timely, and some impossible. Many people don't notice until they're told, but you should know nonetheless.
  • About Me:
    I know it's part of my user name, but my name is actually Matthew.

    The beard is a couple of years new, but I look so young without it.
  • My Interests:
Virtual Gifts

You must log in to send virtual gifts.