Members

Ladye

Premium

Ladye other details
  • Looking for:
    A Date with Serious Intentions, Potential Courtship, Marriage Minded, Friendship, Activity Partner
  • Marital Status:
    Widowed
  • Christian Affiliation:
    Reformed Baptist
  • Race:
    Caucasian
  • Height:
    5' 3"
  • Build:
    Curvy
  • Eye Color:
    Gray
  • Hair Color:
    Blonde
  • College /University:
    Trinity Western, Langley, BC, Canada Oregon State, Corvallis, OR Portland State, Portland, OR
  • Graduation Year:
    1988
  • Level of education:
    Masters
  • Employment:
    Retired
  • Occupation:
    Teacher, homemaker, property manager
  • Company:
    I really am trying to add additional photos. Can't
  • Income:
    80-100K
  • Seeking Ethnicity:
    Caucasian
  • My ideal place to live:
    On the coast
  • My view on smoking:
    I am a non-smoker
  • My view on drinking:
    I drink occasionally
  • On the subject of children:
    I would like to have children one day, AND/OR would gladly accept others
  • Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?:
    I am a widow with no children. I love my home; I have spent about 14 years personally and with hired help landscaping my half acre yard on a hill. I have begun renovations on the home so that I can age in it; it was my husband's and my dream and goal to live here until we die. Anyone who sees my location could understand why. Relocating could be discussed. There might be greater reasons for relocating than staying here. However, I would love to share my home with a beloved partner. I have three brothers within a four-hour drive of my home (along the I-5 corridor) who I love. I enjoy spending time with them and their families!
  • How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?:
    I was raised in a Christian home; I was 11 when I was convicted of sin and trusted Christ for forgiveness. I believe my Christian walk is strong. I have gone through great tribulations in the last 10 years involving several deaths of family members I cared for in they're invalid years after multiple strokes. The sudden death of my husband in the midst of these other challenges has drawn me closer to the Lord for solace, strengthened my belief in the absolute sovereignty of a benevolent Heavenly Father, and prompted much reflection on heaven.
  • How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?:
    I'm not precisely sure what is meant by the Doctrines of Grace. Since it's capitalized, I assume it's a particular statement of beliefs. Grace changed my life because the Holy Spirit convicted me of sin, convinced me Christ died as propitiation for my sin, justified me in the eyes of a holy God, and works in my spirit to conform me to the image of Christ.
  • Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?:
    I don't really study. I suppose study might be a relative word. I listen to some specific teachers on the radio and I memorize scripture. Then I ask a reformed theologian friend about teaching I hear on the radio, or about the verses I'm memorizing.
  • Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?:
    So many, but if I must choose one, and if it is not Christ, it would have to be King David, for his loyalty to Saul, his courage, his charisma, his leadership ability, and for staying true to God throughout the lengthy disciplines he received after his sin with Bathsheba.
  • Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?:
    I was content being single before I married. And then God brought a man I didn't want to live without, we married, but now I'm without him. I miss the companionship, I miss having a partner to talk through the issues of life with, I miss having someone to do things for and to please. But I know in my mind God is a perfectly-capable Caregiver of me, and actually would be my Caregiver even if I were husbanded by a human. I have been alone long enough and have had to manage property and considerable resources my husband left me, as well as the other life challenges I wrote about earlier. If a significant man came into my life, it would have to be a partnership. I could never play the role of a helpless woman. I have always admired the industry and wisdom of the woman described in Proverbs 31. I have been given the opportunity and responsibilities to try to emulate her.
  • What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?:
    Generosity, steadfastness, loyalty, intelligence.
  • What are three things you are most thankful for?:
    My Christian parents, who modeled for our family the Christian walk through difficult times and easier times. As I sort through their belongings now, I find continuous reminders of their love and obedience toward the Lord. My husband, for his gentle and patient spirit, for his courage every day as he functioned with great success in spite of a profound disability, and for his generous provision for me and for my parents in their invalid years. For the freedoms America provides, by the grace of God, and for the opportunity to pursue an education.
  • Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?:
    I think some of my personality traits are apparent in what I've already written. I would add to that cheerful and optimistic and kind. I am generally a happy person. I value sincerity and honesty (honesty does not require speaking every thought that comes into one's mind, by the way). Words have meaning! I value a man who says only what he means and will stand behind. I value intelligence, and the ability to communicate clearly in writing and in speaking. I value selflessness, the ability of a partner to see what I need even if I don't see it, and seek to provide for that. I value a can-do attitude that trusts in the Lord for provision, temporal and in intellectual/mental needs.
  • Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?:
    Pastor Randy, who discipled my husband before we were married, who married us, who pastored us during the 19 years of our married life, who supported me with prayer and counsel as I cared for my invalid parents, who took special care of us in my husband's final week, who officiated at my husband's funeral, who has counseled me in difficulties after my husband's passing, who has a big heart and much learning.
  • What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?:
    Five years ago, my husband of 19 years passed of kidney cancer nine weeks after diagnosis.
  • How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?:
    How I got through the loneliness was to cry, to read Scripture, to read Randy Alcorn's book about heaven, to listen to hymns and good sermons. I also still had my invalid parents to care for and that kept me busy and gave me some meaningful, sweet companionship. My parents loved my husband and he loved them, so we could talk about him together, and rejoice that the four of us would be reunited in heaven.
  • Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?:
    Favorite book is Book 1 of Les Miserables, and favorite character in that book is the bishop. Favorite poem is The Hound of Heaven, by Francis Thompson. A favorite hymn is Be Still My Soul, and particularly the line, "your Jesus can repay from His own fullness all he takes away." Some favorite verses: Ephesians 1:3-9. To think, we were chosen in Him before the foundation of the world that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love he predestined us and made known to us the mystery of His will according to His pleasure ... This should all be in bold and underlined! I love these verses. Also, Roman's 11: 33-36. Oh the depths of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God. And this Mind that is so high above me I cannot comprehend it is benevolent toward me!
  • What type of work do/did you do?:
    I taught blind and visually-impaired children and adults before my marriage. During my marriage, I was a full-time homemaker. After my husband passed, I was left responsible for properties and became a property manager not because I wanted to but because it was necessary. I will retire from management in August because the primary property has sold! Praise the Lord!
  • How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?:
    I do not enjoy property management. I wish to retire! It is time to have some leisure. I would like someone with whom to enjoy the leisure!
  • Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?:
    A lifelong goal is to learn to have the mind of Christ, and to reflect his love to those around me, particularly those who do not know Him. More temporal goal is to travel again. I come from a traveling family; the family business was international travel, and though not wealthy, it was our pattern to be off to Europe or somewhere in the world guiding tours. Sadly, this family business is now dying, something beyond human control.
  • Where were you born and where have you traveled?:
    Born in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, and have traveled much of Canada and the US and most of Europe.
  • How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?:
    Don't have any recreation right now as I'm getting this property ready to sell, as well as sorting my deceased parents belongings. I'm looking forward to working in my yard again. There is a lot of planting and maintaining to do in a half acre yard, and this is very rewarding work to me. Someone once told me I had the Garden of Eden. A little over statement, but I can see how Adam and Eve must have enjoyed it!
  • Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?:
    Yes. I want to learn to play golf, I think. I want to learn how to shoot a gun, I think. To start these are goals for sometime this summer. I exercise (gently -- no cross fit!) six days/week; the goal is to grow younger (uh-huh -- right!) Exercise pool being installed even as I write!
  • About Me:
    I feel like I've been writing this whole epic questionnaire about me; I don't know what more to put in this field.
  • My Interests:
    Travel. Being on the Oregon coast! Sewing and mending. Planting and caring for plants. Doing things for other people. I volunteer in a two-year residential drug and alcohol rehab center in my city, which I find satisfying.
Virtual Gifts

You must log in to send virtual gifts.