View Profile

Details

First Name

John

Username

MoGinCO

Nickname

moginco

Gender

Male

Date of Birth

52 years, 7 months ago

Location

Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Country

United States

State

Colorado

City

Colorado Springs

Looking for

Female, Potential Courtship, A Date with Serious Intentions, Marriage Minded, Blended Family

Marital Status

Divorced – with children

Christian Affiliation

I think I am in my own group

Race

Caucasian

Height

5' 7"

Build

Extra Pounds

Eye Color

Hazel

Hair Color

Multicolored

College /University

I went to Bible College when I was 26. It was a Word of Faith environment (which I am no longer a part of). Was supposed to be a 2 year course but God pulled me out of it early into the 2nd year. So I graduated, but it was God’s college I graduated from. Actually I’m still in His college. Maybe I’m taking the scenic route?

Graduation Year

Level of education

Some College

Employment

Self Employed

Occupation

I am self employed. I do web hosting and development. A lot of WordPress but also custom programming sometimes. I have my own servers which are at a Data Center here in Colorado Springs. Last year grew a fair amount and it looks like 2021 is going to do the same. I was on paid staff as the Tech Director at my last church, so God provided enough to live on but not so much that I’d have to pay anything after the divorce. That’s a crazy story maybe I’ll get to further down in my profile, or save for personal interaction if/when God brings someone along.

I could earn more as a programmer, but the business I think will surpass that in time. What I could NOT have by working for someone else would be the freedom I have now. I home school my son, which is a challenge of course to juggle with everything else, but there’s no way I could do it if I were working outside the home 40+ hours a week. Last November we took 2 weeks and covered 5 states and some amazing sights. August 2019 we did Glacier and Yellowstone. The incredible top photo with mountains and clouds was taken by me on my cell shortly after we passed through the Tetons. My prayer is I can continue to do trips like that with my son and potential future wife/children because of the flexibility the business has given.

Company

My company name is Digipark.

Seeking Ethnicity (those I am willing to date)

Any

My ideal place to live

A cabin in the woods

My view on smoking

I am a non-smoker

My view on drinking

I don't drink, but don't mind others drinking in moderation

On the subject of children

I have children but would like to have more, I have children and would gladly accept someone elses's, I don't know/not sure/if God wills

Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?

I was raised in Wichita KS. Live in Colorado Springs. Love it here. Not looking to move anywhere. Mom and Sister are in Phoenix area. I put down that I wanted to live in a ‘cabin in the woods’. I’m on the NW side of Colorado Springs, close to the mountain, deer all the time, with other wildlife sightings on occasion as well. This isn’t heaven but it’ll do until the Lord says it’s time to relocate to Him. My son’s mother is also here and my mortgage is quite low so I’m not interested in relocation any time soon.

How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?

I was raised in a Christian home though not taught heavily by parents. Parents did puppet ministry when I was younger. We also were involved with the Bible Science Association (taught Creation… I want to go see the Ark in Kentucky!). Dad struggled with depression most of his life and stopped going to church when I was in Middle School. I accepted Christ in 1st grade, rededicated my life around 21, DJ’d a Christian Radio Station, Bible College, etc. After being at a church for about 5 years, most of which on volunteer and then paid staff, I stepped down and took a year off. I’ve read my Bible multiple times and was seeing some doctrinal things I had issues with but didn’t do anything about at the time. Stepping away completely has given me needed time to assess where I was, and where I wanted to go. I’ve been looking for a church home that is more grounded in the Word, and having to rethink music. CityAlight and Sovereign Grace Music, along with Shane & Shane is some of the best I’ve run into. If you have other suggestions for theologically sound worship, please let me know. I read my Bible and pray regularly, probably moving into a deeper study after I finish this time through the Word.

How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?

This is an area I’m still studying. My position on some things has been changing, hopefully maturing, but I don’t think I’m at a point I can really answer this question yet.

Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?

I pray occasionally throughout the day and read my Bible almost daily. I’m on my 9th time through the Bible. Once done there are a couple books I’m looking at for learning how to study deeper.

Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?

Aside from Jesus of course, there are so many interesting characters in the Bible but my favorite would probably be David. He was both worshiper and warrior. Certainly a flawed individual, and yet “a man after God’s own heart”. Phinehas and his zeal for the Lord. Esther. It’s hard to have a single favorite. 😉

Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?

I’m pretty sure God didn’t wire me to be single. God didn’t give me the heart He did for it to be spent in solitude. He does however require I trust Him. So I’m here in hopes for something beyond a casual friendship, but also knowing we need to be friends before eventually someone becomes a best friend.

What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?

I’ll ask them asap 😉

What are three things you are most thankful for?

Jesus. The Cross. Eternity with my Lord.

Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?

Strong Family desire, honesty (absolutely am not a fan of lying and dishonesty), humor (must be able to laugh, sometimes even at ourselves), hard work (this does not mean being a workaholic or not playing hard, but laziness is not an attractive trait IMHO).

Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?

This would probably be Craig, my Jr High Sunday School teacher. He and a friend from Middle School are the two oldest friendships I have, but Craig is by far the most influential. He has been a Brother in the Lord, but also a father figure of sorts. My own father was a good man – I was very fortunate in many respects, but my dad struggled with depression his whole life and Craig filled a fatherly mentoring role that I needed. My own dad died Feb 2018 but Craig is still healthy and we communicate regularly. Men need other godly men in their lives and I’ve been very blessed to have Craig all these years.

What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?

The first book I read after filing divorce was Finding the Right One After Divorce. It’s not an easy read, but it’s a necessary one. To summarize the book, it says this… is it true your ex spouse was an addict, abusive, a gambler, alcoholic, etc? Yes, that could be true. But YOU CHOSE that person. So before you can avoid the same mistake, you need to look at yourself and see why you chose that person, what were the reasons behind that poor choice, so you can deal with yourself before pursuing someone else. In my case, I was desperate for relationship, emotional, physical, etc. I had saved myself for marriage physically… a decision I’d made when I was young, but not an easy decision to stick with (there were plenty of ‘opportunities’). So I’m trying to be a godly man but the clock is ticking and I was not emotionally mature enough to see the mess I was about to step into. There were things I should have seen before getting married, but in my defense, there were a lot of underlying issues I had no clue about, and didn’t fully understand until years into the marriage. My counselor recommended The Emotionally Destructive Marriage (Leslie Vernick) which was definitely my marriage. After years of praying the truth would come out, it was revealed October 2015 that she never wanted to marry me… I was just her ticket away from her family and away from her country.

After dealing with the emotional shock, and yet relief that I finally knew, I realized I needed to prepare for exiting in a way that would best protect my son and myself. I won’t go into all the details here but I came to the conclusion the common teaching ‘God hates divorce’ was not correct and that I did have biblical cause (I can explain later if you’d like). My entire marriage was a fraud but I still had a son to protect. So after years of prayer, planning, and preparation, divorce was filed. Some incredible stories of how God protected, put me in front of the right Magistrates at the right time, lead me to the right lawyer, etc. My prayer for the divorce was that I would a) have primary parental responsibilities of my son, b) keep my business, and c) keep my home (my home is a God story for sure which I can share if you ask). When the divorce was finalized, I kept the house, took the debt (much of which has already been dealt with), kept the business, and have the final say in all matters regarding my son (I have him about 65% of the time). There also are no child or spousal support payments. God protected me through these situations… very thankful for who He is, and what He has done in my life.

How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?

Divorce was finalized July 2019. Only way I made it through was with God. A LOT of support from church, family, friends. I was very fortunate… did not have to face all this alone.

Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?

There is a small book called Her Hand In Marriage which has an amazing little story in the back… I think it’s called The Garden. Can’t share it here but it’s the one thing that came to mind for this question.

What type of work do/did you do?

Web hosting and development (self employed).

How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?

Been doing this for quite some time… since before Al Gore invented the internet.

Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?

I have some but only one to really share here… I want to run the race, and finish well.

Where were you born and where have you traveled?

Born in Oklahoma City, raised in Wichita KS. Have been to The Philippines, Costa Rica, and a number of states. I enjoy traveling to scenic areas and national forests with my son.

How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?

Hike, cook, read, exercise, movies, video games, travel.

Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?

Certainly, but we need to save some things for getting to know each other.

About Me

Just signed up and will fill in more details asap. I’m self-employed and business is hopping at the moment but I just found out about this site and wanted to get a basic profile up. 13 yr old son. Divorce finalized July 2019.

Heavier than I want to be but definitely some muscle on my frame. Working out consistently and hiking occasionally. Colorado Springs is hard to beat. Clean air, water, amazing views, close to scenic areas. Taking son to Estes again over Spring Break… it’s nice and quiet on the trails then (everyone is at the beach). Took him to 5 states the 2nd half of November… Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, Hoover Dam, etc. Good thing my car gets good gas mileage. ;-p

2/12/2021 finally updated a bit. More coming. Be patient. Or don’t be patient and write me for more details. ;-p

John

My Interests

Cooking, singing, working out, reading, hiking, playing with son. I don’t do TV in general but do like to watch movies sometimes. Interest in finances/business, and conservative politics.

New Report

Close