View Profile

Details

Username

Danderson

Nickname

Danderson

Gender

Male

Country

United State

State

Tennessee

City

Chattanooga

Zip

37416

Looking for

to select more than one, press "Control" button

Marital Status

Single – Never Married

Christian Affiliation

Reformed Presbyterian Church General Assembly (RPCGA)

Race

Caucasian

Height

5' 6"

Build

Medium

Eye Color

Hazel

Hair Color

Dark Brown

College /University

Chattanooga State Community College

Graduation Year

2017

Level of education

Associate Degree

Employment

Full Time

Occupation

Remodeler

Company

Apex

Seeking Ethnicity (those I am willing to date)

Caucasian

My ideal place to live

A cabin in the woods

My view on smoking

I am a light smoker

My view on drinking

I drink regularly, in moderation

On the subject of children

I would like to have children one day

Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?

I have spent most of my life in Tennessee, but have often thought about moving, especially since I have been considering a master’s program in Scotland. This has not sat well with most of my family, since we are pretty close in geography, and spend as much time together as possible. Even though my family does not like the thought of me moving away they are supportive and continue to pray for me as I make decisions about the future.

I was adopted at the age of four, and due to this the family I grew up with are extremely dear to me, as well as all being believers. My cousins and I eat supper together once a month, and my mom and I try to have supper about every other week with one of my sisters. My family is rather tight knit, and all of my cousins and I were homeschooled, so we would stay at each others houses often. We enjoy spending time with each other, and often still hang out, though half of them are married and have children. This makes our time together more complicated, yet far more enjoyable as well. I have often plopped down next to them and started playing to their great joy. My family is dear to me and I could go on and on about them.

How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?

I was raised in household that was diligent in making sure I attended a Southern Baptist church every week, and for part of my childhood I would walk a short distance down the country road I lived on to go to church. As a teenager I went through a dark period that led to complete apostasy. At the end of those dark days the LORD humbled me, and as I have told friends, He spiritually dislocated my hip causing me to realize my wicked state, and from there I began to live for Him. Shortly after that I also submitted to the calling of the ministry, which I had been running from since I was a boy. From here I began to visit different churches, and eventually became Reformed.

The roots of reformed theology actually stemmed from a family that I grew up with out in the countryside, and their early work came to fruition, though in a backwards way.

How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?

As mentioned I came to these in a rather odd way. instead of discovering the Doctrines of Grace through the Scriptures, I reasoned them to exist through philosophy. I also came under covenantal theology, while meditating on predestination, through the same means. During the time that I was struggling through what I thought were heretical doctrines, I was reading the Meditations of Decartes, which is fascinating but not a solid way to reason (I think therefore I am). I finally settled the question on a walk back from a local tobacco store with some backer for my pipe. later that year I read Mark Driscoll’s book Religion Saves, which gave me the Scriptural outlook which I had been seeking. At about this time I became aware of what is called systematic theology, which has only helped me to understand the Scriptures better. The Doctrines of Grace have radically transformed my life, and all within the space of four months, at least initially. Resting in the reality that the LORD calls us has brought peace and comfort.

Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?

Unfortunately I have not been as diligent in this area for the last year,  as my current program of study has me completing a class every five weeks. With that said I do meditate on the psalms that my church sings, and have even memorized several so I am able to sing them while at work or in the car. Once my bachelors is complete I look forward to re-establishing morning and evening worship in my life on a regular basis.

Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?

If I must choose one I think I would choose Mordecia, he raised his niece, feared the Lord, and lived a humble life, not seeking advancement or self glory. He even saved the life of a pagan magistrate. From what little we know about him, it seems clear that he demonstrated both the characteristics of a Christian and a man of wisdom.

Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?

I have learned to be content in the Lords will, though I have always wanted to be married and have a family of my own.

What are three things you are most thankful for?

I am deeply thankful for my family and church. I know that they all love me and keep me in their prayers, even if they do not agree with all my views. I am also thankful for my library, because I am inquisitive individual and always trying to learn something new.

Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?

I would have to say the elders of my church have had the most influence on me than any other folks. I cannot say just one because when I have sought their guidance they have always been gracious and willing to haggle out any issues I may have. Along with this these men have instructed me through every other aspect of life.

Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?

I deeply love the books of Psalms and Proverbs. As such I love singing from several different Psalters, with Psalm 2, 78, and 133 being among my favorites. As a soldier I held Psalm 20:7 very dear it reads “Some trust in chariots, and some in horses: but we will remember the Name of the Lord our God.” I also cherish the way the Old Testament closes, by foretelling the coming Messiah with these final words from Malachi “And he shall turn the heart of the fathers to the children, and the heart of the children to their fathers, lest I come and smite the earth with cursing.”

What type of work do/did you do?

Today I work in the remodeling industry, repairing homes. In the past I have been a carpenter and mason in the Georgia Army National Guard, which I served in for six years. From other jobs I have learned how to weld, and even worked in a foundry pouring molten aluminium. I enjoyed all of these jobs, but the foundry was my favorite.

How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?

I have been remodeling for over a year.

Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?

Some of my goals include finishing my bachelors degree this year and to start building on the two acres of land I own. After that I am still debating on whether to continue my masters into history or go straight for seminary. My passion is the gospel and I feel the heavy burden to preach to a lost and dying world.

Where were you born and where have you traveled?

I was born in Texas, but have spent most of my life in Tennessee. I have traveled throughout the South and parts of the Northeast. I have also been to Mexico three times. and the army sent me to Germany for a few weeks. In 2018 I vacationed in Scotland for nearly two weeks.

How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?

I like to tinker and make things. I have welded my own forge together and built a smelting foundry as well.

About Me

I am due to finish my bachelors degree in history this august. Since I was around ten years old history has been my passion, so completing this degree is part of my childhood dream, I would love to be a history professor, but the ministry is has a deeper burden on me. I enjoy researching and would love to one day write books about church history, particularly about the Reformation.

I grew up deep in the Cumberland Plateaus and was always in the woods learning survival skills with my two friends or exploring. This along with the books I read as a child gave me the desire to see the world.  I enjoy smoking cigars and a pipe from time to time, though this has grown to be a few times a year instead of once a week like when I lived with my reformed friends.

I enjoy laughing and making jokes, and have no problem making short jokes about myself. Most of my friends call me a dwarf(they are all taller than I), it does not help that I am a metal worker, lol. I also like to see others smile.

My Interests

Hiking, reading, homesteading, cooking, writing, poetry, ax throwing, running, and making mead (honey wine) to name a few things.

New Report

Close