View Profile

Details

First Name

Winsome

Username

Winnie

Nickname

winnie

Gender

Female

Date of Birth

64 years, 10 months ago

Location

FL, USA

Country

United States

State

Florida

City

Hernando

Looking for

Male, Potential Courtship, Activity Partner, Friendship, Marriage Minded

Marital Status

Divorced – grown adult children

Christian Affiliation

Presbyterian Church in America (PCA)

Race

African American/Black

Height

5' 4"

Build

Curvy

Eye Color

Brown

Hair Color

Black

College /University

University of the West Indies, Jamaica

Manchester University, UK

Graduation Year

1980

Level of education

Bachelors

Employment

Full Time

Occupation

High school chemistry and biology teacher.

Seeking Ethnicity (those I am willing to date)

Any

My ideal place to live

In a small town

My view on smoking

I don't smoke and I don't like to be around smokers

My view on drinking

I rarely drink

On the subject of children

I am an empty nester

Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?

I have three adult children and two grandsons, plus two step grandsons, My family is very close, we make the effort to be with each other as much as possible even though we are in different countries/locations.

I would not rule out relocating, but I want to be able to grow and deepen my relationship with my grandchildren, so being able to be accessible to them is very important to me.

How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?

I was 13 years old when I became a Christian. My walk with God has been like going up and down a mountain for sometime. However, in the last 10 years I have been totally sold out to my Savior. He is the most important person in my life and I do not want to waste a minute being disobedient to Him. I want to serve Him with every fiber of my being as long as He gives me breath.

How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?

I did not begin to appreciate the doctrine of Grace until about 10 years ago. I grow up in churches that were very legalistic and condemning. The Gospel of Grace is liberating and light and glorious. I feel bathed in God’s love knowing how graceful He has been to me. I try to extend this grace to others with whom I interact.

Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?

Yes. It’s usually first thing in the mornings when I awaken. I am currently doing the devotions with Moody Bible Institute. This month it is all about the life of Moses.

Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?

David! A man after God’s own heart. His life reminds me that there is nothing I have done that God will not forgive me, cleanse me and restore me. I love the Psalms written by David and his honesty and openness in displaying his raw pain, doubt, joy, anger, wonder and amazement . My favorite Psalm is Psalm 139.

Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?

I am content being single. I have the ‘cake’ because I have Christ in my life and my family, church and friends. A husband would be the ‘icing’ on this cake. I would love someone to do life with in terms of travel, exchanging ideas, volunteering together, praying and worshipping God together, growing old together.

What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?

1. loyalty

2. Keeping my promises

3. I love to serve others

4. I’m devoted to the Lord

What are three things you are most thankful for?

1. My relationship with Jesus

2. My relationship with my family and friends

3. Good health to continue to work.

Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?

1. Honesty and openness

2. a servant spirit

3. intelligence and humility

4. a desire to help others

5. a life long learner

6. A nature lover

7. a good communicator

Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?

My high school teacher showed me that I had the potential to achieve a life better than the one my parent had.

An elder at my church showed me what it means to be humble and hospitable.

What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?

The unfaithfulness and emotional abuse of my ex husband; my inability to stand up for myself and recognize that I deserved better.

How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?

About 23 years. I was very busy raising three children for the first couple of years, after that  I immersed my self in my family, work, church and friends,

Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?

The heavens declare the glory of God and the world shows His handiwork. This verse always comes back to me when I am observing a beautiful sunrise, sunset or any other wonder of nature that speaks loudly of the Creator.

What type of work do/did you do?

I teach high school Chemistry and Biology. I have been doing this since leaving college, and have taught in 4 countries.

How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?

I have been doing this since I left college in 1980. I love teaching, that is what the Lord called me to do, even though I did not recognize it to be so at first. It’s my mission field.

Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?

I plan to write at least one book. I have had this desire for many years and it has never gone away.

I would love to have/work part time in  a small book store where people could come in and browse, sit around for coffee and conversation.

I would love to be a part of a disaster team where I go to help minister spiritually and physically to people who have just experienced some disaster eg a hurricane.

I would love to travel across Canada from east to west coast by train.

I would love to go hiking in some of the national forests in the USA

I want to develop and maintain a close relationship with my grand children, my children and their spouses.

I would like to do a Mediterranean cruise and a cruise to the Eastern Caribbean.

I believe in life long learning, so I am open to learning new things eg how to play the piano

I want to be actively involved in projects that minister to others.

Where were you born and where have you traveled?

I was born in Jamaica…yeahhhh! The land of reggae music, Bob Marley and Usain Bolt!

I lived in Trinidad and Tobago, Belize, England and now the USA.

I spend a lot of time in Canada as one of my daughters live there with her husband and my grandson.

I have travelled to Mexico, Guatemala, Barbados, Canada, the Netherlands, and Venezuela.

 

How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?

I am an avid reader and gardener. I like to exercise-zumba classes; I enjoy walking and listening to  audiobooks.

I like sweet, sob movies that make me laugh and cry. I love getting together with friends to go out to eat, sit around and chat etc.

I love board games…play these a lot with my family.

I love to go fishing and do outdoor activities.

 

Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?

Nope! This was pretty thorough.

About Me

I am so grateful for the love of Jesus, I want to serve Him in everyway and be obedient to Him. I trust Him with every aspect of my life.

I am easy going, honest and forgiving of others. I am humble, easy to please. I enjoy helping others. I would rather be serving food at an event than sitting there twiddling my thumbs.

I enjoy Gospel music and music from the 60’s-80’s.

I believe that I should do everything to take good care of the body I have been given, so I exercise and try to eat right. This means resisting the desires of my sweet tooth. I love everything chocolate. I am adventurous with food..will try something new at least once.

My Interests

I love to hear people’s story, especially those with a totally different background from myself. I am always amazed at the journey many people have endured, especially Believers.

I like to debate and discuss various things…I steer away from politics most of the time.

New Report

Close