Members

Michael_1653
Michael_1653 other details
  • Looking for:
    A Date with Serious Intentions, Potential Courtship, Marriage Minded
  • Marital Status:
    Single - Never Married
  • Christian Affiliation:
    Reformed Baptist
  • Race:
    Caucasian
  • Height:
    5' 9"
  • Build:
    Average
  • Eye Color:
    Hazel
  • Hair Color:
    Brown
  • College /University:
    Binghamton University
  • Graduation Year:
    2013
  • Level of education:
    Currently in College
  • Employment:
    Student
  • Occupation:
    -
  • Company:
    -
  • Income:
    Not Stated
  • Seeking Ethnicity:
    Caucasian
  • My ideal place to live:
    A farm/cottage in the country
  • My view on smoking:
    I don't smoke and I don't like to be around smokers
  • My view on drinking:
    I don't drink, but don't mind others drinking in moderation
  • On the subject of children:
    I would like to have children one day
  • Tell us about your family. How do you feel about relocating?:
    I care deeply for my family. Having my parents to talk to keeps me sane. Where I live would primarily depend on where my future job is. I like familiar surroundings and would like to settle down (though I would like to travel if ever possible). I'm open to moving just about anywhere in the states as long as it's not hot all the time or cold all the time.
  • How old were you when you were drawn to Christ and how is your Christian walk these days?:
    I grew up in a very Christian home, but I was drawn to Christ most clearly when I was sixteen. Currently, I rely on God greatly for comfort and guidance. I have been struggling to find a Bible-based church in my area. Not having mature biblical Christians to interact with on a regular basis is difficult. I am doing my best with God's help to stay true to God's will by endeavoring to be a light to those in darkness and being holy as He is holy.
  • How have the Doctrines of Grace changed or affected your life?:
    The Doctrines of Grace have impressed upon me the significance of the sovereignty of God. That sovereignty means that I should serve Him with my entire being because He is my Creator, God, and Lord. It also means that I can take comfort in present circumstances and in the future because he orders all things as they ought to be. I also realize that the brokenness of the world will someday be healed through His power by His grace, righteousness, goodness, and truth. The truth of the Doctrines of Grace affect me most in giving me peace: God is in control and God is good, therefore there is nothing for which I need to be distraught.
  • Do you have a "Quiet Time?" What are you studying?:
    On Sundays I read one or more sections of the Bible and pray. I read through John around Easter time, and more recently I have been reading the Minor Prophets. They seem to be neglected books, but I have found a lot of worthwhile reading in them. It's a shame that they're not read and referenced more. I usually read a few Psalms after my other reading. I have found that gathering the themes from a psalm and using them to instruct my prayers has been very worthwhile.
  • Who is your favorite Biblical Character and why?:
    My favorite character is Peter for his depth of feeling and his dramatic reversal of life and mind. He had the audacity to deny his Lord, and yet after the Holy Spirit was poured out on him, he became Christianity's first great preacher. He became truthful, confident, eloquent, and jealous to see God's Kingdom extended.
  • Are you content being single? Why? If not, why?:
    I wish to be married. Most practically, because of my physical desires. God created me with desires and a legitimate way to satisfy them. I think ignoring them would only leave me liable to sin. Secondly, because I think it is a sort of duty for the average Christian. Marriage is meant to be an earthly representation of Christ and His Bride. Also, God shares in the Scripture His love for children--children themselves, bearing children, and properly rearing children. And marriage is the means God ordained for this.
  • What are four qualities your friends would attribute to you?:
    Reserved, opinionated, considerate, intelligent.
  • What are three things you are most thankful for?:
    A right knowledge of God. A loving and godly family. Health, strength, and the opportunity to live life.
  • Describe the character and personality traits you enjoy in another person? What are yours?:
    I like when a young woman is gentle, decent (demeanor and dress), sensitive, and intelligent.
  • Other than your parents, who has been the most influential person in your life and how?:
    Other than my parents, the most influential person in my life has been my elderly friend, Jack. He turned 84 this year. As a teenager I was his "lawn slave" and personal handyman. He has a big heart for people, whether he knows them or not. I have never seen him angry. He's also a die-hard liberal and a relatively ignorant Catholic. Balancing and reconciling my love for the man and my distaste for his big-picture ideas has been the challenge of my life. I love him, and I wouldn't trade him for anything.
  • What contributed to your previous relationship/marriage ending?:
    I've never been in a long-term relationship. The few girls that I would otherwise have been interested in I was dissatisfied with how Christianity to them seemed to be a compartment of their life and not what defined it.
  • How long have you been on your own since and what did you to do get through it?:
    -
  • Favorite lines from movies, poems, songs, hymns or Scripture you would like to tell us about?:
    Clean your room! -Jordan Peterson God of mercy, God of grace, Give us eyes to see. Eyes to see your smiling face Within the mystery. -God Moves in a Mysterious Way (hymn by William Cowper) Greater is he that conquers his own soul than he that takes a city. -Proverbs 16:32 And what does the Lord require of thee but to do justly and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God. -Micah 6:8 But God, being rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our transgressions, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved). -Ephesians 2:4-5 I don't know why you're clapping. I'm talking about you. -Paul Washer
  • What type of work do/did you do?:
    I have helped my dad sell rare, out-of-print books online. I have worked as a construction laborer building three houses. I have worked as a packager at a medical implant manufacturer. I have worked in an automotive repair shop. I have worked as a Congressional intern and as an intern in a district attorney's office. Now I think I've settled on being a plant scientist.
  • How long have you been/were you in that line of work? Do/you enjoy it?:
    I liked construction. I have come to love repairing things around the house, and finishing small projects. I liked auto repair both for the chance to learn mechanics and also the opportunity to interact with customers and other people. Interacting on a friendly basis with strangers doesn't come naturally to me so the job helped me expand my interpersonal skills.
  • Do you have any life-long goals? What are they?:
    It might sound a little simplistic, but I would like a respectable job doing something important. I don't want a comfortable job where I do as little as possible. I want to learn a skill, be committed to my profession, and make a noticeable difference in the world.
  • Where were you born and where have you traveled?:
    I was born in Sayre, PA, but I have lived in Chemung, NY my entire life in the same house. I have traveled as far north as the Adirondacks, as far south as South Carolina, as far east as new York City, and as far west as Michigan. I would like to see more of the U.S. and also visit Europe if ever possible.
  • How do you enjoy your leisure time? What do you do for recreation?:
    I spend a bit of time reading. usually history, social science, politics, religion, and science. I like to listen to classical music, marches and anthems from the Western world, and old hymns (the original 18th century hymns are some of my favorites). When I'm home, I like to walk near the stream near our house and in the woods where my extended family inherited an old cabin. My favorite part is less the walking and more the stopping and investigating things or admiring the sights. I also enjoy gardening. I grow vegetables but also really enjoy planting wildflowers.
  • Is there anything that the questionnaire didn’t cover?:
    A few significant things that weren't addressed above: I worked for several years after high school to afford college. I just finished my junior year and plan to finish my undergraduate degree next year debt-free. I'm thinking recently that graduate school will be in my future. I don't currently have a job, but I work hard and have ambitions. God willing, I'll be well-established in a few years' time. I am proudly reformed, and I enjoy studying the Bible and reading theology, but I am not a theology nerd and I don't treat theology as an academic discipline. I believe that theology is necessarily practical--to teach us how to think and how to live. I believe it is systematic but not mathematic. It teaches us how to live as humans not automatons. I have always had a deep longing to share the Biblical message. But because of finding people mostly unreceptive and myself being mostly reserved it is not something that I can do easily. The Christian message is very serious and very personal and for those two reasons I find it difficult to broach the subject. Excluding my parents, I have talked deeply about faith--my own or theirs--with a handful of people. I hope that someday I can share it with more. The biggest reasons for my lack of a church home are the dearth of biblical preaching or lack of a sense of community in the congregation. There are several places that I have attended very regularly, but making one or another a more permanent fixture of my life has not come to fruition. I hope I haven't gone into excessive detail in this questionnaire. Sorry for the length.
  • About Me:
    -
  • My Interests:
    -
Virtual Gifts

You must log in to send virtual gifts.